HHE logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

What Is HHE?

TL;DR
  • HHE here means Healthy Home Evaluator, a Building Performance Institute (BPI) credential for assessing health-related conditions in homes.
  • The exam is 50 online multiple-choice questions in 90 minutes, closed-book, under a BPI-approved proctor.
  • Data Collection is the largest domain at 38% - 42% of the blueprint, so it deserves the most study time.
  • An active BA-P, EA, QCI or MFBA prerequisite is required before the exam and throughout certification.

The Short Answer: HHE Means Healthy Home Evaluator

On this site, HHE stands for Healthy Home Evaluator, a professional certification issued by the Building Performance Institute (BPI). The same three letters are used by unrelated credentials in other fields, so it is worth being precise: everything below concerns the BPI Healthy Home Evaluator certification and nothing else. If you landed here searching for the meaning of the acronym, that is the answer in one line.

The credential signals that a professional can walk into a residence, gather evidence about conditions that affect occupant health, interpret that evidence, and turn it into a prioritized, defensible set of recommendations. It sits at the intersection of building science and public health, which is why the exam leans on observation, measurement, and communication rather than on memorizing equipment specifications.

What a Healthy Home Evaluator Actually Does

An evaluator's job is not to fix a house. It is to figure out what is wrong, how it relates to the people living there, and what should happen next. The work follows a recognizable arc, and the exam's six domains mirror it closely.

  1. Learn about the occupants. Interviews surface symptoms, routines, and concerns, such as a child with asthma or recurring headaches that improve away from home.
  2. Inspect and measure. The evaluator combines qualitative observations (visible moisture staining, odors, ventilation condition) with quantitative measurements.
  3. Analyze. Findings are interpreted together, since moisture, pests, ventilation, combustion appliances, and contaminants often interact.
  4. Recommend. The evaluator ranks hazards and drafts a scope of work.
  5. Communicate. Clients, contractors, and sometimes health or housing programs need findings explained in plain language.

Typical subject matter includes indoor air quality, carbon monoxide and combustion safety, moisture and mold, and legacy hazards such as lead and asbestos. A key skill is knowing the boundary of your role: an evaluator identifies and documents concerns, and recognizes when a situation calls for a specialist, a laboratory, or a licensed trade.

Evaluator, not remediator: The exam repeatedly rewards answers that stay inside professional scope. Documenting a hazard, recommending a next step, and referring out when appropriate is usually the safer reading of a scenario than improvising a fix.

Who Issues the Credential

BPI governs the HHE certification and publishes the controlling document, the Healthy Home Evaluator Certification Scheme Handbook (revised April 9, 2026). The exam objectives come from section 7 of that handbook. BPI does not run every exam session itself; testing is delivered through BPI Test Centers and BPI-approved proctors, and no separately branded commercial testing vendor is identified for HHE.

Because the issuer's web pages, FAQ, and third-party training sites occasionally disagree with one another, the handbook is the document to trust when details conflict. For a deeper look at how the credential is defined and what the label covers, see our explainer on what HHE certification is.

The Prerequisite You Need First

The Healthy Home Evaluator is not an entry-level standalone credential. Under the 2026 handbook, you must hold an active BA-P, EA, QCI, or MFBA certification before you sit the exam and keep it active throughout your HHE certification. That is the single most important eligibility fact for people planning a path.

  • If the prerequisite credential lapses, your HHE lapses with it.
  • Reactivating the prerequisite reinstates an otherwise unexpired HHE.
  • No separate HHE degree, work-hour, or reference requirement was verified beyond the prerequisite.
Watch for conflicting sources: Some issuer web summaries and training-provider pages mention legacy BA eligibility or suggest an uncertified person can sit the exam. Others omit EA from a list. The April 2026 handbook is the scope we follow here. Confirm your own eligibility with BPI or your Test Center before paying for anything. Our HHE requirements guide walks through qualifying in more detail.

How the HHE Exam Works

The format is straightforward, and there is no separate field assessment for HHE. Everything is tested through the written exam.

FeatureHHE Detail
Questions50 multiple-choice, delivered online
Time limit90 minutes
Reference materialsClosed-book under the HHE handbook
ProctoringDirect observation by a BPI-approved proctor, with audio/video recording
CalculatorA standard nongraphing calculator is permitted under BPI Test Center policy
Field assessmentNone required
Scored/unscored splitNot disclosed
AttemptsUp to six online attempts in one year from the first unsuccessful attempt, each charged
Time to certify12 months from the first exam

Scoring and passing

Passing standards are set using a Modified Angoff method and vary by exam version. BPI does not publish a single universal numerical pass mark, so be skeptical of any site that claims one. Likewise, an official pass rate is not publicly disclosed in the HHE sources located. We cover what is and is not known in our pieces on the HHE passing score and the HHE pass rate.

Taking it remotely

BPI's locator identifies Test Centers that offer remote testing, including some that list HHE. However, "online" does not automatically mean "at home." Whether a given center offers at-home HHE delivery, and under what conditions, must be confirmed directly with that center. The same goes for any question about permitted references: the HHE handbook is closed-book, so do not assume an exception applies without checking.

Key Takeaway

Treat the Test Center as your source for scheduling, price, and delivery specifics. BPI sets the rules; each center sets its own schedule and USD pricing. Our guide to HHE exam dates and scheduling explains how to plan around that.

The Six Exam Domains

The blueprint is published as percentage ranges, not fixed allocations, so treat the endpoints as bands rather than exact question counts. Here is what each domain asks of you. For a longer treatment, see the full breakdown of all six HHE content areas.

Domain 1: Principles of a Healthy Home (e.g., Keep it Healthy) (8% - 10%)

The conceptual foundation: how housing conditions relate to occupant health and the framework used to think about a home as a system.

  • Understand how dry, clean, ventilated, and safe conditions support health
  • Connect building conditions to health outcomes in a general, non-diagnostic way

Domain 2: Data Collection (38% - 42%)

The heart of the exam and the biggest single block of questions. You must know how to gather reliable information in the field.

  • Conduct occupant interviews to surface health concerns and household behaviors
  • Record qualitative observations such as staining, odors, and visible conditions
  • Take and interpret quantitative measurements appropriately
  • Recognize what evidence is missing or unreliable

Domain 3: Analysis and Interpretation (18% - 20%)

Turning raw findings into meaning, including recognizing how hazards interact.

  • Weigh interview, observation, and measurement data together
  • Identify likely sources and pathways for moisture, combustion, and contaminant problems
  • Judge which findings carry the greatest health significance

Domain 4: Recommendations and/or Scope of Work (18% - 20%)

Converting analysis into an actionable, prioritized plan.

  • Rank hazards by urgency and health impact
  • Write clear, appropriately scoped recommendations
  • Know when to refer to a specialist or licensed professional

Domain 5: Communication and Client Education (5% - 10%)

The smallest domain, but tested in a practical way.

  • Explain findings in plain language without alarmism
  • Educate occupants about behaviors that affect their home environment
  • Document and report professionally

Domain 6: Personal Safety, Insurance, and Liability (8% - 10%)

Protecting yourself and your business while working in homes that may contain hazards.

  • Use appropriate personal protective practices on site
  • Understand insurance and liability considerations for evaluators
  • Stay within professional scope to limit exposure

Notice how the weights concentrate: Data Collection alone is nearly four of every ten questions, and it combines with Analysis and Interpretation and Recommendations to make up the bulk of the exam. Candidates who treat the credential as a general "healthy homes trivia" test tend to be surprised by how scenario-driven the evaluation process is. For a realistic sense of the challenge, read how hard the HHE exam is.

HHE vs. HHP: Two Different Credentials

BPI also offers a Healthy Housing Principles (HHP) Certificate of Knowledge. It is a separate credential from the HHE certification, with its own syllabus, question count, and passing mark. Many training providers bundle HHP and HHE preparation together, which causes real confusion, and some search results still show outdated HHP details.

QuestionHealthy Home Evaluator (HHE)Healthy Housing Principles (HHP)
TypeProfessional certificationCertificate of Knowledge
Prerequisite credentialActive BA-P, EA, QCI or MFBAGoverned by its own rules
PurposeEvaluate and recommend in real homesFoundational knowledge of healthy housing
Exam rulesHandbook-defined; 50 questions, 90 minutesSeparate; do not assume HHE rules apply

The practical advice: never apply HHP question counts or passing marks to the HHE, and never the reverse. If a course covers both, confirm which exam each lesson targets.

Where the Money Goes

BPI does not publish a single national initial-exam price or a member versus non-member differential. Instead, each Test Center sets its own USD prices and schedules. That means the number you pay depends on where you test and how you bundle training.

  • Exam-only listings: one provider's exam-only listing shows $300, while another provider's credential page lists $450. These are provider-specific advertised prices, not issuer-wide fees.
  • Optional preparation: one provider advertises $795 for its preparation course, and that price excludes the examination fee.
  • Retakes: each additional attempt carries its own charge, within the six-attempt allowance.
  • Prerequisite credentials: your BA-P, EA, QCI or MFBA is a separate cost and commitment if you do not already hold one.
Training is optional: Nothing in the handbook requires a particular course. Many evaluators prepare with the published objectives, field experience from their prerequisite credential, and practice questions. Our HHE certification cost breakdown separates exam fees, optional training, and renewal so you can budget without guessing.

Keeping the Credential Active

HHE certification is valid for three years. To renew, you maintain your prerequisite credential and complete one of three routes, then submit the application, evidence, and fees.

  1. Pass the HHE exam before expiry.
  2. Earn and document 24 qualifying CEUs during the cycle.
  3. Document 150 hours of relevant Healthy Homes training delivered as a trainer over the cycle.

Two details trip people up. First, CEU evidence that you self-report must be submitted at least 30 days before expiry under BPI's Continuing Education Unit Policies and Procedures; later submissions may not be accepted. Second, the exam route carries real risk: a failed renewal exam immediately ends your existing HHE certification. Candidates who prefer a safety net often plan CEUs early rather than leaving renewal to a last-minute exam.

The official renewal fee for one certification without examinations is $360 by ACH, debit, or e-check, or $370.80 by credit card. If a renewal exam is required, the Test Center fee is additional. On the trainer route, note that the handbook specifies trainers, and proctor status alone is not treated as satisfying that requirement.

Careers and Earnings Context

Evaluators typically work in contexts where a home's condition affects health: weatherization and energy-efficiency programs, housing and public-health initiatives, home performance and inspection businesses, and consulting for clients with health-sensitive households. The credential most often adds a health-focused service line to someone who already works in building performance, which is consistent with the prerequisite structure. See our overview of HHE jobs for the kinds of roles that value it.

On pay, the best available context is occupation-level. The Illinois-based IREC green buildings career map publishes a range of roughly $43,000 to $106,000 annually and $22 to $53 hourly for the Healthy Home Evaluator occupation, though it does not show a visible estimate year or methodology. That is a wide band that reflects location, employer, experience, and the underlying building-performance role, not a verified premium attributable to holding the certification. Be cautious about any source that quotes a single salary or promises a credential-driven raise. For a measured look, see the HHE salary guide and the analysis of whether the certification is worth it.

Sequencing Your Preparation

Because the blueprint is so unevenly weighted, the smartest plan is to order your study by domain weight rather than by the order topics appear in a textbook. A simple, HHE-specific sequence works well for most candidates:

Week 1

Frame the work

  • Read the handbook objectives (section 7) so you know the exact blueprint
  • Cover Principles of a Healthy Home and Personal Safety, Insurance, and Liability, which together are a modest share
Weeks 2-3

Data Collection, the heavyweight

  • Drill occupant interviews, qualitative observations, and quantitative measurements
  • Practice deciding what evidence is sufficient and what is missing
Week 4

Analysis and Recommendations

  • Work scenarios from findings to ranked hazards to a scope of work
  • Rehearse referral decisions and scope limits
Week 5

Communication and full-length review

  • Review client-education wording and reporting
  • Take timed practice sets to test pacing against 50 questions in 90 minutes

Weeks 2 and 3 get the longest block because Data Collection is the largest domain and feeds everything after it. For a fuller plan, see the HHE study guide, and keep the HHE cheat sheet handy for last-minute review. When you are ready to test yourself on realistic items, our practice test site offers timed question sets, and you can find more on the main HHE practice exams to gauge where you stand.

Key Takeaway

Practice scores and training-provider success claims are not the same as the real pass rate. Use practice tests to find weak domains, not to predict an official outcome that BPI does not publish.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does HHE stand for?

On this site it stands for Healthy Home Evaluator, a certification issued by the Building Performance Institute (BPI). Other unrelated credentials share the same acronym, so confirm the context before comparing details.

Do I need another certification before taking the HHE exam?

Yes. The April 2026 handbook requires an active BA-P, EA, QCI or MFBA before the exam and throughout certification. If that prerequisite lapses, your HHE lapses until it is reactivated.

How many questions are on the exam and how long do I have?

The exam has 50 online multiple-choice questions and a 90-minute time limit. It is closed-book and proctored by a BPI-approved proctor with audio and video recording. No separate field assessment is required.

How long is the certification valid, and how do I renew?

It is valid for three years. You can renew by passing the exam, documenting 24 qualifying CEUs, or documenting 150 hours of relevant training delivered as a trainer, while keeping the prerequisite active. A failed renewal exam immediately ends the certification.

Is HHE the same as the Healthy Housing Principles certificate?

No. HHP is a separate BPI Certificate of Knowledge with its own syllabus, question count, and passing mark. Do not apply HHP details to the HHE or vice versa, even when a provider bundles both courses.

Ready to pass your HHE exam?

Put this into practice with free HHE questions across every exam domain.