HHE logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

HHE Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts

TL;DR
  • The exam is 50 online multiple-choice questions in 90 minutes, closed-book, with direct observation by a BPI-approved proctor.
  • Data Collection is the heaviest domain at 38%-42%, so it deserves the largest share of your review time.
  • An active BA-P, EA, QCI or MFBA is required before the exam and throughout certification.
  • No universal passing score is published; passing standards vary by exam version under Modified Angoff.

Which "HHE" This Sheet Covers

This one-page review covers the Healthy Home Evaluator (HHE) credential issued by the Building Performance Institute (BPI). Other credentials share the same three letters, so double-check that any study material you use is written for BPI's Healthy Home Evaluator. If you are new to the credential, start with What Is HHE? or What Is HHE Certification? for the background, then return here for the compressed facts.

Everything below is drawn from the April 9, 2026 revision of the BPI Healthy Home Evaluator Certification Scheme Handbook and the linked BPI policy documents. Where BPI's own web pages disagree with each other, this sheet follows the handbook and says so.

The Exam at a Glance

ItemWhat to Know
IssuerBuilding Performance Institute (BPI)
CredentialHealthy Home Evaluator (HHE)
Format50 multiple-choice questions, delivered online
Time limit90 minutes
Field assessmentNone; no separate HHE field assessment is required
Open or closed bookClosed-book, directly observed, with audio/video recording
ProctoringBPI Test Centers and BPI-approved proctors
CalculatorStandard nongraphing calculator permitted per BPI Test Center Policies, section 15.1
Passing markVaries by exam version (Modified Angoff); no universal number published
Pass rateNot publicly disclosed in the official sources located
Scored vs. unscored itemsSplit not disclosed
ValidityThree years

Two items deserve emphasis. First, because there is no published cut score, you cannot study to a number like "70%." Aim for strong, consistent performance across all six domains instead. Our deep dives on the HHE passing score and the HHE pass rate explain what is and is not known. Second, any success rate you see in a training provider's marketing applies to that provider's students and is not an official HHE pass rate.

Prerequisite Credential Rules

The 2026 handbook requires that you hold an active BA-P, EA, QCI or MFBA before you take the exam and keep it active throughout certification. That last clause matters: the prerequisite is not a one-time gate.

Lapse Chain: If your prerequisite credential lapses, your HHE lapses with it. Reactivating the prerequisite reinstates an otherwise unexpired HHE. Calendar your prerequisite's renewal date alongside your HHE expiry.

BPI's public web summaries are not perfectly consistent. The credential overview page adds legacy BA to the list and says an uncertified person can take the exam, while the FAQ requires a prerequisite but omits EA from one list and includes EA in its lapse answer. Several training providers still carry older eligibility wording. When in doubt, the April 2026 handbook is the controlling document, and you should confirm your specific situation with the Test Center before paying for anything. For the full eligibility discussion, see HHE Requirements 2026.

Beyond the prerequisite credential, no separate degree, work-hour or reference requirement was verified for HHE. Training is optional.

Blueprint Weights and What Each Domain Tests

BPI publishes percentage ranges for six domains. Treat the endpoints as ranges, not exact allocations, and do not normalize them into a single fixed number of questions per domain.

DomainPublished Range
Domain 1: Principles of a Healthy Home (e.g., Keep it Healthy)8% - 10%
Domain 2: Data Collection38% - 42%
Domain 3: Analysis and Interpretation18% - 20%
Domain 4: Recommendations and/or Scope of Work18% - 20%
Domain 5: Communication and Client Education5% - 10%
Domain 6: Personal Safety, Insurance, and Liability8% - 10%

Domains 1 and 6: The Frame Around the Work

Principles of a Healthy Home establishes the framework you evaluate against. Personal Safety, Insurance, and Liability covers your own protection and the boundaries of your professional role.

  • Expect scenario questions about what an evaluator should and should not do or promise on site.
  • Know the difference between evaluating a condition and certifying a remedy.
  • Together these two domains are a modest slice of the exam but are among the most memorizable points.

Domains 3 and 4: From Findings to Action

Analysis and Interpretation asks what your observations and measurements mean. Recommendations and/or Scope of Work asks what should be done about them and in what order.

  • Practice moving from raw findings to prioritized hazards to a defensible scope of work.
  • Expect questions that test sequencing, such as which issue to address first and why.
  • Each of these domains carries roughly a fifth of the exam, so together they rival Data Collection in weight.

Domain 5: Communication and Client Education

The smallest range (5% - 10%), but the one most often underestimated. It covers how you explain findings and recommendations to occupants and clients in plain language.

  • Expect questions about framing, tone and what to tell a client versus what to refer out.

For a fuller breakdown of all six content areas, read HHE Exam Domains 2026.

One wording quirk worth knowing: the blueprint's Domain 1 title uses "e.g." while its task section uses "i.e." The blueprint wording is retained as published, so do not read anything into the difference.

Data Collection: The 38%-42% Domain

Data Collection is the single largest domain, and it is where a first-time candidate is most likely to gain or lose the exam. Building your review around it is the highest-leverage decision you can make.

Domain 2: Data Collection (38% - 42%)

This domain is about gathering reliable information about the home and its occupants before you analyze anything.

  • Occupant interviews: what residents report about symptoms, routines, complaints and history.
  • Qualitative observations: what you see, smell and notice during a walkthrough.
  • Quantitative measurements: instrument-based readings and the correct way to take and record them.
  • Documentation: recording findings consistently so later analysis and recommendations are traceable.

A useful way to study this domain is to sort every fact into one of three buckets: things you ask, things you observe, and things you measure. Exam questions frequently test whether you know which method suits a given situation, and whether a measurement was taken in a way that makes it trustworthy.

Key Takeaway

Do not memorize hazard lists in isolation. For each topic in your materials, such as carbon monoxide and combustion safety, indoor air quality, moisture and mold, lead, or asbestos, ask how you would gather evidence of it on site: what to ask occupants, what to look for, and what to measure.

Our HHE Study Guide 2026 walks through this method topic by topic.

Exam-Day Rules and Retake Limits

  • Closed-book. The HHE handbook is closed-book. The general BPI Test Center policy mentions an exception involving unmarked BPI standards, but you should not assume that applies to HHE; confirm any HHE-specific reference allowance with your Test Center in advance.
  • Observed and recorded. A BPI-approved proctor directly observes you, and the session is audio/video recorded.
  • Calculator. A standard nongraphing calculator is permitted during online exams under the current Test Center Policies and Procedures.
  • "Online" is not the same as "at home." BPI's locator identifies Test Centers offering remote testing, including centers listing HHE, but this does not guarantee at-home delivery at every center. Ask the specific center what its HHE arrangement is.
  • Retakes. The handbook permits six HHE online-exam attempts within a one-year period beginning with the first unsuccessful attempt, with a charge for each attempt.
  • Completion window. You have 12 months from your first exam to complete certification.

Scheduling is handled through BPI Test Centers rather than a separately identified third-party testing vendor, and each center sets its own schedule. For timing questions, see HHE Exam Dates 2026.

Fees: What Is Fixed and What Is Not

This is where candidates most often get confused, because BPI does not publish a single national initial-exam price or a member/non-member differential. Test Centers set their own prices in US dollars.

Cost ItemAmount / Status
Initial exam, national BPI priceNone published; set by each Test Center
Example: Green Training USA exam-only listing$300 (provider-specific)
Example: HeatSpring credential page$450 (provider-specific)
Example: HeatSpring optional prep course$795, with examination fees excluded
Renewal fee, one certification, no exam$360 by ACH/debit/e-check, or $370.80 by credit card
Renewal exam (if you renew by testing)Test Center fee is additional to the renewal fee
Read the Fine Print: The example prices above are advertised by individual providers, not issuer-wide fees, and they are not guaranteed totals. Add up optional training, the exam or proctor charge, any prerequisite credential costs, and the possibility of paid retakes before you budget. The full picture is in HHE Certification Cost 2026.

Renewal and Lapse Facts

HHE certification is valid for three years. To renew, you maintain your prerequisite credential, submit the application, evidence and fees, and satisfy one of three alternatives:

  1. Pass the HHE exam before your certification expires.
  2. Earn and document 24 qualifying CEUs during the cycle.
  3. Document 150 hours of relevant Healthy Homes training delivered over the cycle as a trainer.
Two Traps: First, a failed renewal exam immediately ends your existing HHE certification, so do not treat a renewal-by-exam as a risk-free fallback. Second, self-reported CEU evidence must be submitted at least 30 days before expiry under BPI's March 1, 2026 CEU policies and procedures; later submissions may not be accepted.

On the trainer route, BPI's current overview also names BPI proctors, but handbook section 11 explicitly says trainers, so proctor status alone should not be assumed to satisfy the training requirement. If you plan to use this path, confirm your eligibility with BPI first.

HHE vs. HHP: Keep Them Separate

BPI's Healthy Housing Principles (HHP) Certificate of Knowledge is a separate credential from the Healthy Home Evaluator certification. Many training providers bundle the two, which makes them easy to blur together. They have different questions, different passing marks and different syllabi.

  • Do not apply HHP exam rules, question counts or passing marks to the HHE.
  • Be skeptical of older search results that describe HHP using obsolete numbers; the current HHP page states its own rules, which do not carry over to HHE.
  • A provider's course chapter list is not the official HHE blueprint. Use the six domains above as your map.

The HHE is also a different animal from the Building Analyst credential, which is among the possible prerequisite pathways rather than a substitute. If you are still deciding where HHE fits in your credential stack, Is the HHE Certification Worth It? frames that decision.

Career and Salary Context

Healthy Home Evaluators work where housing condition meets occupant health, so employers tend to be organizations doing home assessments, weatherization and energy-efficiency work, and healthy-housing programs, along with consultants who add health-focused evaluation to an existing building-performance practice. For a closer look at the job market, see HHE Jobs.

On pay, the only salary evidence in our verified sources is occupation-level: the IREC Green Buildings Career Map profile for Healthy Home Evaluator lists roughly $43,000-$106,000 annually and $22-$53 hourly, with no visible estimate year or methodology. Treat that as broad context for the role, not as a verified 2026 pay premium attributable to holding the HHE certification. Your own earnings will depend heavily on region, employer type and the credentials you already hold. Our HHE Salary Guide 2026 goes further into how to read these numbers cautiously.

Using the Blueprint to Schedule Review

Here is the one place we will talk study scheduling, and it is deliberately tied to the blueprint rather than to a generic template. The logic: front-load the heaviest domain, then build outward along the workflow an evaluator actually follows.

Week 1

Frame and Safety (Domains 1 and 6)

  • Learn the healthy-home principles framework and the liability and role boundaries.
  • These are compact topics that give you vocabulary for everything else.
Weeks 2-3

Data Collection (Domain 2)

  • Spend the largest block here: interviews, observations and measurements for each hazard area.
Week 4

Analysis, Recommendations, Communication (Domains 3, 4, 5)

  • Work full cases from findings through prioritization, scope of work and a plain-language client explanation.

Finish with timed practice at the real format: 50 questions in 90 minutes, no references. You can build that rhythm with the question sets on our HHE practice test site, and then drill any weak domain using the full-length practice exams. Candidates who find the difficulty uncertain may want to read How Hard Is the HHE Exam? before committing a timeline.

Frequently Asked Questions

How many questions are on the HHE exam, and how long do I get?

The exam has 50 online multiple-choice questions with a 90-minute time limit. BPI does not disclose how many of those are scored versus unscored, and no separate field assessment is required.

What score do I need to pass?

There is no universal numerical pass mark. BPI states that passing criteria vary by exam version under the Modified Angoff method, so prepare for strong performance across every domain rather than a fixed percentage.

Do I need another BPI certification first?

Under the April 2026 handbook, you need an active BA-P, EA, QCI or MFBA before the exam and throughout certification. BPI's web pages and some training providers list slightly different eligibility details, so confirm with your Test Center and treat the handbook as controlling.

How many times can I retake the exam?

The handbook allows six online-exam attempts in a one-year period starting from the first unsuccessful attempt, and each attempt carries a charge. You also have 12 months from your first exam to complete certification.

What happens if I fail the renewal exam?

A failed renewal exam immediately ends your existing HHE certification. If you would rather not risk that, the alternatives are documenting 24 qualifying CEUs or, for eligible trainers, documenting 150 hours of relevant Healthy Homes training delivered over the cycle. Submit self-reported CEU evidence at least 30 days before expiry.

Ready to pass your HHE exam?

Put this into practice with free HHE questions across every exam domain.