- The Short Answer: Healthy Home Evaluator
- Who Issues the HHE Credential
- Why the Acronym Causes Confusion
- What a Healthy Home Evaluator Actually Does
- The Six Exam Domains Behind the Name
- How the HHE Exam Works
- The Prerequisite That Surprises People
- Three-Year Validity and Renewal
- HHE vs. HHP: Two Separate Credentials
- Career Context and Pay Evidence
- Where to Go After Learning the Name
- Frequently Asked Questions
- On this site, HHE means Healthy Home Evaluator, a credential issued by the Building Performance Institute (BPI).
- The exam is 50 online multiple-choice questions in 90 minutes, closed-book, under a BPI-approved proctor.
- Data Collection is the largest domain at 38% - 42% of the exam blueprint.
- An active BA-P, EA, QCI or MFBA is required before the exam and throughout certification.
The Short Answer: Healthy Home Evaluator
HHE stands for Healthy Home Evaluator. It is a professional certification offered through the Building Performance Institute (BPI) for people who assess residential properties for conditions that affect occupant health, then translate what they find into prioritized, actionable recommendations.
That is the entire expansion. Everything else in this article explains what sits behind those three words: who issues the credential, what an evaluator is expected to do, how the exam is built, and how the credential is maintained. If you are here because you saw "HHE" on a job posting, a training catalog, or a BPI page and want to know what it refers to, you now have the answer. If you want to understand whether it is relevant to your career, keep reading, and for a broader orientation you can also see our explainer on what HHE is.
Who Issues the HHE Credential
The Healthy Home Evaluator certification is governed by the Building Performance Institute (BPI). BPI is the body behind a family of residential building-performance credentials, and the HHE sits within that family. The governing document for the credential is the Healthy Home Evaluator (HHE) Certification Scheme Handbook, revised April 9, 2026. The official exam objectives appear in section 7 of that handbook.
This matters because the handbook, not a training vendor's marketing page, is the controlling source for eligibility, exam rules and renewal. Several training providers publish eligibility summaries that are older or phrased differently. When a provider page and the 2026 handbook disagree, the handbook is the reference to trust. We cover those eligibility details further in our HHE requirements guide.
Why the Acronym Causes Confusion
Three-letter acronyms get reused across industries, and "HHE" is no exception. A search for the letters can surface unrelated certifications, programs and job titles. That is precisely why a clear definition is useful before you invest in study materials, pay for an exam, or apply for a role.
A few practical habits keep you on the right track:
- Confirm the issuer. For this credential it is BPI. If a page names a different certifying body, you are reading about something else.
- Look for the phrase "Healthy Home Evaluator" spelled out, not just the abbreviation.
- Check that exam descriptions mention residential data collection, hazard analysis and scopes of work rather than unrelated subject matter.
- Treat any fee, date or pass-mark claim with suspicion unless it is tied explicitly to the BPI Healthy Home Evaluator exam.
For more variations on the same question, our short pages on HHE meaning and what HHE means cover how the term shows up in search results and job listings.
What a Healthy Home Evaluator Actually Does
The word "evaluator" is deliberate. The role centers on assessing a home as a system, gathering evidence about conditions, interpreting that evidence, and communicating a plan. It is not a repair trade and it is not a medical role. The credential's six-domain blueprint (covered below) mirrors that workflow: understand the principles, collect data, analyze it, recommend a scope of work, communicate with the client, and protect yourself and others while doing it.
The assessment-to-recommendation chain
A useful way to picture the job is as a chain in which each link depends on the one before it:
- Occupant interviews and qualitative observations establish what the people in the home are experiencing and what the building looks and smells like.
- Quantitative measurements add numbers to those impressions.
- Analysis connects the observations and measurements to likely causes and to health-relevant risks.
- Prioritization decides which problems matter most and in what order they should be addressed.
- A scope of work turns priorities into recommendations a contractor or program can act on.
- Client education explains the findings in plain language so the occupant can follow through.
Topics that routinely appear in this territory include moisture and mold, indoor air quality, combustion safety and carbon monoxide, and legacy hazards such as lead and asbestos. A candidate who treats these as isolated facts will struggle; a candidate who understands how a moisture problem can drive a mold problem, or how combustion appliances interact with ventilation and air tightness, will find the questions far easier to reason through.
The Six Exam Domains Behind the Name
The official blueprint publishes percentage ranges for six domains. Those ranges are the published weights; the endpoints are not fixed allocations you should normalize into a single number per domain. A full walkthrough lives in our HHE exam domains guide, but here is how the credential's name maps onto its structure.
| Domain | Published weight | What it asks of you |
|---|---|---|
| Domain 1: Principles of a Healthy Home (e.g., Keep it Healthy) | 8% - 10% | Foundational healthy-housing concepts that frame everything else |
| Domain 2: Data Collection | 38% - 42% | Interviews, qualitative observations and quantitative measurements |
| Domain 3: Analysis and Interpretation | 18% - 20% | Turning collected data into conclusions about causes and risks |
| Domain 4: Recommendations and/or Scope of Work | 18% - 20% | Prioritized, actionable recommendations and work scopes |
| Domain 5: Communication and Client Education | 5% - 10% | Explaining findings and next steps to clients |
| Domain 6: Personal Safety, Insurance, and Liability | 8% - 10% | Protecting yourself, your business and your client |
Domain 2: Data Collection (38% - 42%)
This is by far the heaviest domain, which tells you something about the profession: evaluation begins with evidence. Expect questions that ask what to gather, how to gather it, and what a given observation or measurement does and does not tell you.
- Occupant interviews and what they reveal about symptoms and patterns
- Qualitative observations of the building and its surroundings
- Quantitative measurements and how to interpret readings
The blueprint's wording is slightly inconsistent in places. Domain 1 uses "e.g." in its description, while the task section of the same domain uses "i.e." We keep the blueprint's wording as published rather than smoothing it over. Because Data Collection carries so much weight, it deserves the largest share of study time, a point we expand on in the HHE study guide.
How the HHE Exam Works
The exam format is straightforward and fully proctored:
- 50 multiple-choice questions delivered online
- 90 minutes to complete them
- Closed-book, taken under direct observation by a BPI-approved proctor with audio/video recording
- No separate field assessment is required for the HHE
- A standard nongraphing calculator is permitted during online exams under BPI's Test Center Policies and Procedures (revised June 1, 2023, section 15.1)
Testing is delivered through BPI Test Centers and BPI-approved proctors rather than through a separately identified third-party vendor. BPI's official locator identifies Test Centers that offer remote testing, including centers listing HHE. However, "online" does not automatically mean "from your living room." Whether a particular center offers at-home HHE delivery is something you must confirm directly with that center.
Scoring and pass marks
BPI does not publish a single universal numerical passing score. Passing criteria vary by exam version under a Modified Angoff method, and the split between scored and unscored questions is not disclosed. An overall pass rate for the HHE population is not published in the official sources we located. If you see a vendor claiming a success percentage, treat it as that vendor's statement about its own students, not as an official statistic. Our pages on the HHE passing score and HHE pass rate go deeper on what is and is not known.
Attempts and cost mechanics
The handbook permits six online-exam attempts within a one-year period beginning with the first unsuccessful attempt, with a charge for each attempt. It also allows 12 months from the first exam to complete certification. BPI does not publish a national initial-exam price; Test Centers set their own prices in US dollars. As illustrations only, Green Training USA lists an exam-only HHE product at $300, and HeatSpring's credential page lists $450. HeatSpring separately advertises $795 for optional preparation that excludes exam fees. These are provider-specific advertised prices, not issuer-wide fees. See the HHE certification cost breakdown for how to separate training, exam and prerequisite expenses.
Key Takeaway
Because the exam is closed-book and proctored, memory and applied reasoning both matter. Practice with realistic timed questions at our main practice test site so the 50-question, 90-minute pace feels familiar before you sit with a proctor.
The Prerequisite That Surprises People
Many candidates assume a credential called "Healthy Home Evaluator" is an entry-level, stand-alone certification. Under the April 2026 handbook it is not. You must hold an active BA-P, EA, QCI or MFBA before taking the examination and must keep it active throughout your HHE certification. If that prerequisite lapses, your HHE lapses with it; reactivating the prerequisite reinstates an otherwise unexpired HHE.
There is a wrinkle worth knowing about. BPI's current web summaries do not perfectly agree with each other: one overview adds a legacy BA credential and suggests an uncertified person can take the exam, while an FAQ requires a prerequisite but omits EA from one list and includes it in a lapse answer. We follow the April 2026 handbook as the controlling scope, and we recommend you verify your specific situation with BPI or your Test Center before paying for anything. Beyond the prerequisite credential, we did not verify a separate degree, work-hour or reference requirement for the HHE. Training is optional.
Three-Year Validity and Renewal
An HHE certification is valid for three years. To renew, you maintain the prerequisite credential, submit the application, evidence and fees, and satisfy one of three alternatives:
- Pass the HHE exam before expiry.
- Earn and document 24 qualifying CEUs during the cycle.
- Provide documentation of 150 hours of relevant Healthy Homes training delivered over the cycle as a trainer.
On that third route, BPI's current overview also mentions BPI proctors, whereas the handbook (section 11) explicitly says trainers. Because of that mismatch, proctor status alone should not be assumed to satisfy the requirement.
Timing and money details to remember:
- Self-reported CEU evidence must be submitted at least 30 days before expiry under BPI's March 1, 2026 Continuing Education Unit Policies and Procedures; later submissions may not be accepted.
- The official renewal fee for one certification without examinations is $360 by ACH/debit/e-check or $370.80 by credit card. Where an online renewal exam is required, the Test Center fee is additional.
- A failed renewal exam immediately ends the existing HHE certification, so the exam route carries real risk compared with accumulating CEUs.
HHE vs. HHP: Two Separate Credentials
BPI also offers the Healthy Housing Principles (HHP) Certificate of Knowledge. It sounds similar and many training providers bundle the two, but it is a different credential. HHP's questions, passing marks and syllabus are not interchangeable with the HHE's, and we deliberately do not apply HHP rules to the HHE. Some older web explanations of HHP still show outdated question counts and percentages, which is one more reason to rely on the issuer's current page for whichever credential you pursue.
| Feature | Healthy Home Evaluator (HHE) | Healthy Housing Principles (HHP) |
|---|---|---|
| Credential type | Professional certification | Certificate of Knowledge |
| Issuer | Building Performance Institute (BPI) | Building Performance Institute (BPI) |
| Prerequisite credential | Active BA-P, EA, QCI or MFBA (2026 handbook) | Check BPI's HHP page |
| Exam rules | This article and the HHE handbook | Separate; confirm on BPI's HHP page |
If you are weighing the HHE against other building-performance paths, our overview of what HHE certification is and the broader HHE certification page can help you place it in context.
Career Context and Pay Evidence
Healthy Home Evaluators work in the space where building science meets occupant health. Typical settings include weatherization and energy-efficiency programs, home-performance contracting firms, public-health and housing agencies, and consulting practices. Because the prerequisite credential comes from the building-performance world, many evaluators add the HHE to an existing skill set rather than starting from zero. Our HHE jobs page explores role types in more detail.
On pay, we want to be careful. IREC's occupation profile for the Healthy Home Evaluator role publishes a range of roughly $43,000 to $106,000 annually, or $22 to $53 hourly, but it does not display an estimate year or methodology. That is occupation-level context, not a verified 2026 premium for holding the certification. We do not claim a specific salary uplift from earning the credential. For a fuller discussion, see the HHE salary guide and the analysis of whether the HHE is worth it.
Where to Go After Learning the Name
Once you know that HHE means Healthy Home Evaluator, the productive next questions are about fit and preparation. If you decide to pursue it, sequence your effort around the blueprint rather than around a generic plan. A light, HHE-specific rhythm might look like this:
Data Collection first
- Spend the largest block of time on Domain 2 because it is 38% - 42% of the exam
- Separate occupant interviews, qualitative observations and quantitative measurements in your notes
Analysis and Recommendations
- Work Domains 3 and 4 together, since each is 18% - 20% and they build on each other
- Practice moving from a set of findings to a prioritized scope of work
Principles, communication and liability
- Cover Domains 1, 5 and 6, then take timed practice sets
When you are ready to test yourself, start with the HHE practice test, keep our one-page HHE cheat sheet nearby for final review, and read how hard the HHE exam really is to calibrate expectations. If you want structured instruction, see our notes on HHE training, and check HHE exam dates and scheduling to plan around Test Center availability.
Frequently Asked Questions
On this site, HHE stands for Healthy Home Evaluator, a certification issued through the Building Performance Institute (BPI). It credentials professionals who assess homes for health-related conditions and recommend prioritized corrective actions.
No. Under BPI's April 2026 handbook you must hold an active BA-P, EA, QCI or MFBA before the exam and throughout certification. If that prerequisite lapses, the HHE lapses until the prerequisite is reactivated.
It consists of 50 online multiple-choice questions in 90 minutes, closed-book, under direct observation by a BPI-approved proctor with audio/video recording. No separate field assessment is required. The scored versus unscored split is not disclosed.
No. The Healthy Housing Principles (HHP) Certificate of Knowledge is a separate BPI credential with its own questions, passing mark and syllabus. Some providers bundle the two, but HHP rules should not be applied to the HHE.
It is valid for three years. You renew by passing the exam, documenting 24 qualifying CEUs, or documenting 150 hours of relevant Healthy Homes training delivered as a trainer, while keeping the prerequisite active. The renewal fee without examinations is $360 by ACH/debit/e-check or $370.80 by credit card, and a failed renewal exam immediately ends the certification.