HHE logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

HHE Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 6 Content Areas

TL;DR
  • The Healthy Home Evaluator exam has six domains, and Data Collection is the largest at 38% - 42% of content.
  • The exam is 50 online multiple-choice questions in 90 minutes, closed-book, under a BPI-approved proctor.
  • Analysis and Interpretation and Recommendations/Scope of Work are each weighted 18% - 20%.
  • BPI publishes weight ranges, not exact question counts, so do not normalize the endpoints.

How the HHE Blueprint Is Built

The Healthy Home Evaluator (HHE) credential is issued by the Building Performance Institute (BPI). Its exam objectives are published in the Healthy Home Evaluator (HHE) Certification Scheme Handbook, revised April 9, 2026, in section 7. That blueprint divides the exam into six domains, each with a published percentage range rather than a single fixed weight.

That distinction matters for how you study. A range such as 38% - 42% tells you the approximate share of the exam a domain can occupy. It is not a promise that exactly 40% of your 50 questions will come from that area, and the endpoints should not be averaged or forced to add up to a tidy 100 in your head. Treat the ranges as a priority signal: Data Collection deserves the most hours, Analysis and Interpretation and Recommendations come next, and the remaining three domains are smaller but still scored.

DomainPublished WeightRelative Priority
1. Principles of a Healthy Home (e.g., Keep it Healthy)8% - 10%Foundation
2. Data Collection38% - 42%Highest
3. Analysis and Interpretation18% - 20%High
4. Recommendations and/or Scope of Work18% - 20%High
5. Communication and Client Education5% - 10%Moderate
6. Personal Safety, Insurance, and Liability8% - 10%Foundation

For the full study approach built around these weights, pair this guide with the HHE Study Guide 2026. If you are weighing how demanding the whole exam is, see How Hard Is the HHE Exam?

Scope reminder: This article covers the Healthy Home Evaluator (HHE) credential only. BPI's Healthy Housing Principles (HHP) Certificate of Knowledge is a separate credential with its own questions, passing mark and syllabus, so none of its details apply to the HHE blueprint described here.

Domain 1: Principles of a Healthy Home

Domain 1 carries 8% - 10% of the exam. The blueprint's wording for this domain includes the parenthetical "e.g., Keep it Healthy," which points to the framework-style thinking the exam expects: a healthy home is approached as a system in which moisture, ventilation, contaminants, pests, safety and occupant behavior interact, rather than as a list of separate defects.

What Domain 1 Expects You to Understand

This domain is conceptual. It sets the vocabulary and the cause-and-effect logic that the later, heavier domains rely on.

  • How a home functions as a connected system, where a change in one component (for example, air sealing) can affect others (for example, ventilation and moisture)
  • The core themes of healthy housing, such as keeping a home dry, clean, well ventilated, pest-free, contaminant-free, safe and well maintained
  • How building conditions relate to occupant health outcomes, without overstating what an evaluator can diagnose
  • Why prevention and source control generally come before mitigation

Do not skip this domain because of its smaller weight. The principles reappear inside scenario questions in Domains 2 through 4, where a question may describe a house and ask which underlying principle explains the problem. Candidates who memorize hazards without the principles often stumble on those applied items.

Domain 2: Data Collection

Data Collection is the dominant domain at 38% - 42%. On a 50-question exam, that range implies a large share of your questions will test how an evaluator gathers information. BPI does not disclose the scored versus unscored split, so avoid calculating exact question counts; simply plan for this domain to determine more of your result than any other.

An HHE assessment draws on three broad kinds of information, and the exam expects you to know which tool or method fits which question:

Occupant Interviews

Occupants hold information no instrument can capture: when symptoms occur, which rooms feel problematic, past water events, pest sightings, product and cleaning habits, and household vulnerabilities.

  • Knowing which questions to ask and in what order
  • Recognizing that interview data is reported, not measured, and must be corroborated
  • Understanding how occupant concerns steer where you look first

Qualitative Observations

Visual and sensory findings form the backbone of a walkthrough: staining, odors, visible growth, deteriorated finishes, pest evidence, clutter and housekeeping conditions, ventilation components, and signs of past or ongoing moisture intrusion.

  • Systematic, repeatable inspection patterns inside and outside the home
  • Distinguishing active conditions from historical ones
  • Documenting observations clearly enough to support later analysis

Quantitative Measurements

Instruments turn suspicion into data. The exam expects you to understand what a reading means, what can distort it, and when a measurement is or is not appropriate.

  • Choosing a suitable measurement for the concern being investigated
  • Understanding instrument limits, calibration and proper use
  • Recognizing when a reading is outside an evaluator's scope and requires a specialist

The topic areas where candidates should be ready for data-collection questions include carbon monoxide and combustion safety, indoor air quality and ventilation, moisture and mold, lead and asbestos awareness, pests, and general safety hazards. For lead and asbestos in particular, the key professional skill is knowing the evaluator's role: recognizing conditions that suggest a concern and knowing when to refer rather than attempting to certify or abate.

Key Takeaway

Because Data Collection is the heaviest domain, build your question-by-question practice around "what would I look at, ask, or measure here?" rather than "what is the answer?" Then confirm your reasoning on the HHE practice test.

Domain 3: Analysis and Interpretation

Domain 3 accounts for 18% - 20% of the exam. Once data is collected, an evaluator must make sense of it, and this domain tests that reasoning step. Questions tend to hand you findings and ask what they mean together.

Core Analytical Skills

The exam favors integrated thinking over isolated facts.

  • Connecting interview statements, observations and measurements into a coherent explanation of a problem
  • Identifying likely sources and pathways, for example how moisture is entering and where it is accumulating
  • Telling a symptom from a root cause
  • Recognizing when data conflicts or is insufficient, and what additional information would resolve it
  • Prioritizing hazards by seriousness and urgency

Prioritization is the pivot point between Domains 3 and 4. A home may present many issues at once, and a good evaluator separates immediate life-safety concerns from moderate and long-term items. Expect scenario questions where several defensible findings appear and you must identify the most pressing one.

Domain 4: Recommendations and/or Scope of Work

Domain 4 also carries 18% - 20%. Its heading includes the phrase "and/or," reflecting that an evaluator's output may be a set of recommendations, a scope of work, or both, depending on the engagement.

From Findings to Action

This domain tests whether your recommendations are logical, ordered and appropriate to the evidence collected.

  • Linking each recommendation to a specific finding
  • Sequencing work sensibly, such as addressing a moisture source before cosmetic repair
  • Distinguishing source elimination, mitigation, and occupant behavior changes
  • Knowing when to recommend further evaluation or a qualified specialist rather than a direct fix
  • Writing a scope clear enough that a contractor or client can act on it

A useful way to rehearse Domains 2 through 4 together is a full assessment-to-recommendation case: start from an occupant complaint, list the data you would gather, interpret what you find, rank the hazards, and draft the recommended actions. That end-to-end chain mirrors how the exam's scenario questions are constructed.

Domain 5: Communication and Client Education

Domain 5 has the widest relative range, 5% - 10%, and is the smallest by weight. Do not mistake that for low value; communication is where an evaluator's technical work becomes useful to the person living in the home.

What Communication Questions Reward

Expect situational items about how to convey information responsibly.

  • Explaining findings in plain language without overstating certainty or alarming the client
  • Educating occupants on behaviors that support a healthier home, such as ventilation use and moisture control habits
  • Setting realistic expectations about what an evaluation can and cannot determine
  • Respecting occupant concerns and sensitivities while staying within professional boundaries
  • Documenting and presenting results in a clear, organized form

These questions often have one answer that is professionally measured and others that are either too technical, too dismissive, or that drift into medical or legal claims an evaluator should not make.

Domain 6: Personal Safety, Insurance, and Liability

Domain 6 covers 8% - 10% of the exam and concerns the evaluator's own protection and professional boundaries. It is a compact domain that many candidates under-study because it feels like common sense, yet its items reward precision about roles and risks.

Protecting Yourself and Your Practice

Healthy-home work puts evaluators in environments with real hazards and real professional exposure.

  • Recognizing on-site hazards and using appropriate personal protective practices
  • Understanding the purpose of professional insurance and liability protection
  • Staying within your scope of practice and referring out when a task exceeds it
  • Documenting conditions and communications to protect both client and evaluator
  • Knowing which situations require stopping work or involving another qualified party
Scope-of-practice thread: Boundary awareness shows up in several domains, not just this one. An evaluator who recognizes a possible lead, asbestos or combustion-safety concern but understands the limits of the role is demonstrating exactly the judgment the exam is built to confirm.

Format, Delivery, and Scoring Rules

Knowing the domains is half the preparation; the other half is knowing the conditions under which you will be tested.

  • Length: 50 online multiple-choice questions in 90 minutes. No separate HHE field assessment is required.
  • Security: Closed-book testing under direct observation by a BPI-approved proctor, with audio/video recording.
  • Provider: BPI Test Centers and BPI-approved proctors, not a separately identified third-party testing vendor.
  • Calculator: The current BPI Test Center Policies and Procedures (revised June 1, 2023, section 15.1) permit a standard nongraphing calculator during online exams. Because the HHE handbook is closed-book, confirm any reference-material question directly with your Test Center.
  • Scoring: Passing criteria vary by exam version under a Modified Angoff process. No universal numerical pass mark is published, so beware of any source quoting one. See HHE Passing Score 2026 for what is and is not known.
  • Attempts: The handbook permits six online-exam attempts in a one-year period beginning with the first unsuccessful attempt, with a charge for each attempt, and allows 12 months from the first exam to complete certification.
  • Pass rate: Not publicly disclosed in the official HHE sources located. Provider success claims are not the population pass rate; read HHE Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows for the careful version.

Remote testing is offered through certain BPI Test Centers, and BPI maintains a locator that identifies centers offering remote testing, including some listing HHE. That does not guarantee at-home delivery at every center, and "online" by itself is not evidence of at-home delivery, so verify the specific arrangement before you book. For timing and scheduling details, see HHE Exam Dates 2026.

Sequencing Your Prep Around the Weights

The only study-planning idea worth borrowing here is that your calendar should mirror the blueprint. Here is one sequence that front-loads the heavy domains while keeping the foundations in view.

Week 1

Principles and Safety Foundations

  • Domain 1 systems thinking and healthy-home themes
  • Domain 6 scope of practice, insurance and liability concepts
Weeks 2-3

Data Collection Deep Dive

  • Interviews, observations and measurements across CO/combustion, indoor air, moisture/mold, lead/asbestos awareness and pests
  • Timed question sets, since this domain is the largest
Week 4

Analysis, Recommendations and Communication

  • Domains 3 and 4 through full assessment-to-recommendation cases
  • Domain 5 plain-language client explanations
Final days

Closed-Book Simulation

  • 50-question, 90-minute timed practice with no notes
  • Review misses by domain, weighting Data Collection first

Use the HHE Cheat Sheet for last-pass review of key facts, and drill scenario-style items on the main practice test site so the format feels familiar before the proctored attempt.

Key Takeaway

Allocate study time roughly in proportion to the published ranges, but treat the endpoints as guidance, not allocation. A weak Domain 2 will cost more than a perfect Domain 5 can recover.

Prerequisites, Fees, and Renewal Context

The domains are only useful if you can sit for the exam, so a few eligibility and cost realities belong in your plan.

Eligibility

The April 2026 handbook requires an active BA-P, EA, QCI or MFBA certification before examination and throughout certification. If that prerequisite lapses, the HHE lapses with it; reactivating the prerequisite reinstates an otherwise unexpired HHE. BPI's web summaries are not perfectly consistent on this point, so the handbook is the retained scope. Full detail is in HHE Requirements 2026.

Cost

BPI publishes no national initial-exam price and no member versus non-member differential. Test Centers set their own USD prices and schedules. Examples observed include an exam-only listing at $300 from Green Training USA and a $450 credential-page listing from HeatSpring, which separately advertises $795 for optional preparation that excludes examination fees. These are provider-specific prices, not issuer-wide fees or guaranteed totals. Training is optional. For a clean separation of training, exam and prerequisite costs, see HHE Certification Cost 2026.

Validity and Renewal

HHE certification is valid for three years. Renewal options are to pass the HHE exam before expiry, earn and document 24 qualifying CEUs during the cycle, or document 150 hours of relevant Healthy Homes training delivered over the cycle as a trainer. You must also maintain the prerequisite and submit the application, evidence and fees. Self-reported CEU evidence must be submitted at least 30 days before expiry under BPI's March 1, 2026 CEU policy. The official renewal fee for one certification without examinations is $360 by ACH/debit/e-check or $370.80 by credit card, with any required online renewal exam's Test Center fee additional. A failed renewal exam immediately ends existing HHE certification, so treat renewal-by-exam as a real risk and consider the CEU route.

Career Context

IREC's occupation profile lists $43,000-$106,000 annually and $22-$53 hourly for the Healthy Home Evaluator role, but it shows no visible estimate year or methodology, and it is occupation-level context rather than a verified 2026 credential premium. For a measured read, see the HHE Salary Guide, the ROI analysis, and HHE Jobs. If you are new to the credential itself, start with What Is HHE Certification?

Frequently Asked Questions

Which HHE exam domain is weighted the most?

Data Collection, at 38% - 42%, is the largest domain. Analysis and Interpretation and Recommendations and/or Scope of Work each follow at 18% - 20%. These are published ranges, not fixed question counts.

How many questions are on the HHE exam, and how long do I have?

The exam has 50 online multiple-choice questions with a 90-minute limit. It is closed-book and proctored by a BPI-approved proctor with audio/video recording, and no separate field assessment is required.

What score do I need to pass?

BPI does not publish a universal numerical pass mark. Passing criteria vary by exam version under a Modified Angoff process, so any single quoted percentage should be treated with caution.

Can I take the HHE exam from home?

Some BPI Test Centers offer remote testing, and BPI's locator identifies them, but this does not guarantee at-home delivery for HHE at every center. Confirm the specific arrangement with your chosen Test Center before booking.

What happens if I fail the exam?

The handbook permits six online-exam attempts within a one-year period starting from the first unsuccessful attempt, with a charge for each attempt, and allows 12 months from your first exam to complete certification. Review your weakest domain, especially Data Collection, before retesting.

Ready to pass your HHE exam?

Put this into practice with free HHE questions across every exam domain.