- What You Are Actually Sitting For
- Reading the Blueprint Like a Study Map
- Data Collection: Where the Exam Is Won
- Analysis, Recommendations and the Case-Thinking Chain
- Communication, Safety and Liability
- Prerequisite, Proctoring and Exam-Day Logistics
- Training and Cost Choices
- A Domain-Weighted Study Plan
- After You Pass: Renewal and Career Context
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The HHE exam is 50 online multiple-choice questions in 90 minutes, closed-book, under a BPI-approved proctor.
- Data Collection carries 38%-42% of the blueprint, making it the largest single domain by a wide margin.
- You need an active BA-P, EA, QCI or MFBA credential before the exam and throughout certification.
- No universal passing score is published; standards vary by exam version under Modified Angoff.
What You Are Actually Sitting For
The Healthy Home Evaluator (HHE) is a professional certification issued by the Building Performance Institute (BPI). It is aimed at people who assess a home as a system, looking at how moisture, combustion safety, ventilation, pollutants, pests and occupant behavior interact, and then translate findings into a prioritized scope of work. If you are wondering about the basics first, our explainer on what HHE certification is covers the credential's purpose and where it sits among BPI offerings.
This guide is built for candidates who already know they want the credential and need a plan that fits the exam's real structure. Everything below is anchored to BPI's Healthy Home Evaluator (HHE) Certification Scheme Handbook (revised April 9, 2026), which is the document that defines the exam objectives. If you want to test yourself as you read, the HHE practice test mirrors the multiple-choice format and domain mix.
The exam format in one glance
| Item | What the handbook and BPI policies say |
|---|---|
| Questions | 50 online multiple-choice questions |
| Time | 90 minutes |
| Reference materials | Closed-book for HHE; confirm any reference question with your Test Center |
| Calculator | A standard nongraphing calculator is permitted for BPI online exams (Test Center Policies and Procedures, section 15.1) |
| Supervision | Direct observation by a BPI-approved proctor, with audio/video recording |
| Field assessment | No separate HHE field assessment is required |
| Scored vs. unscored items | Split is not disclosed |
Fifty questions in ninety minutes gives you roughly a minute and forty seconds per item. That is comfortable for recall questions and tighter for scenario items that ask you to read a short house description and pick the most defensible next step. Your preparation should include timed scenario practice, not just flashcard recall.
Reading the Blueprint Like a Study Map
The handbook (section 7) publishes the six domains with percentage ranges rather than fixed counts. Those ranges are the official statement of emphasis, so treat the endpoints as boundaries, not as numbers to average or normalize. For a deeper domain-by-domain walkthrough, see our complete guide to all six HHE content areas.
| Domain | Published weight | Study implication |
|---|---|---|
| Domain 1: Principles of a Healthy Home (e.g., Keep it Healthy) | 8% - 10% | Foundational vocabulary and the logic that connects the later domains |
| Domain 2: Data Collection | 38% - 42% | The largest block; give it the most hours and the most practice questions |
| Domain 3: Analysis and Interpretation | 18% - 20% | Turning observations and measurements into conclusions |
| Domain 4: Recommendations and/or Scope of Work | 18% - 20% | Prioritizing and sequencing corrective actions |
| Domain 5: Communication and Client Education | 5% - 10% | Smallest range, but scenario wording makes it easy to lose points |
| Domain 6: Personal Safety, Insurance, and Liability | 8% - 10% | Professional boundaries and protecting yourself on site |
Data Collection: Where the Exam Is Won
Data Collection is the single biggest lever on your result. The domain covers how an evaluator gathers evidence about a home and its occupants, and the blueprint's task language organizes that evidence into three practical streams: occupant interviews, qualitative observations and quantitative measurements. Expect questions that test whether you know which stream is appropriate, what each stream can and cannot tell you, and how to avoid drawing conclusions from thin evidence.
Domain 2: Data Collection (38% - 42%)
Candidates must be able to gather complete, defensible information before any analysis begins.
- Occupant interviews: health complaints, symptom timing, household composition, vulnerable occupants, habits and past repairs
- Qualitative observations: staining, odors, visible growth, pest evidence, ventilation condition, appliance condition, clutter and housekeeping factors
- Quantitative measurements: readings from instruments and what their limits are, including when a reading is a screening indicator rather than a conclusion
- Documentation: recording what you saw, where you saw it and how you know, so later analysis stands on solid ground
Topic clusters to master
The themes that recur across HHE preparation materials and the handbook's scope give you a reliable checklist:
- Moisture and mold: sources of water entry, condensation patterns, humidity behavior, and how to distinguish active moisture problems from historic staining.
- Combustion safety and carbon monoxide: fuel-burning appliance indicators, venting concerns, and what occupant symptoms and house conditions should trigger caution.
- Indoor air quality: ventilation adequacy, sources of particulates and volatile compounds, and the relationship between airtightness and air quality.
- Lead and asbestos awareness: recognizing when materials and house age raise concern, and understanding the limits of an evaluator's role when testing or abatement is a specialist matter.
- Pests and allergens: evidence of infestation, harborage conditions and how building conditions support them.
- Safety hazards: falls, fire, electrical and similar household risks that sit alongside the environmental ones.
Analysis, Recommendations and the Case-Thinking Chain
Domains 3 and 4 together hold 36% to 40% of the blueprint by their published ranges, and they are best studied as a chain rather than separate topics. You collect evidence, analyze it, and then recommend actions that match the analysis. Exam scenarios often hand you a short case and ask for the link that is missing.
Domain 3: Analysis and Interpretation (18% - 20%)
Making sense of the data without overreaching.
- Connecting occupant symptoms and complaints to building conditions, while recognizing correlation is not proof
- Identifying the likely source of a problem versus treating its visible symptom
- Recognizing interactions, such as a ventilation change affecting combustion appliances or moisture
- Knowing when evidence is insufficient and further investigation or referral is the right answer
Domain 4: Recommendations and/or Scope of Work (18% - 20%)
Producing actions the client can follow and a contractor can price.
- Prioritizing by risk, so immediate safety concerns come before comfort or cosmetic items
- Fixing root causes before cleaning or remediation of effects
- Sequencing work so one repair does not undo or complicate another
- Writing a scope of work that is specific enough to be actionable without exceeding your professional role
Practice the full chain
A useful self-study habit is to take one hypothetical home and walk it through every stage: interview notes, observations, measurements, analysis, a prioritized recommendation list, a scope of work and a plain-language client explanation. Doing this once per major hazard category (moisture, combustion, air quality, pests) builds the integrated thinking that scenario questions reward. Because the chain touches Domains 2 through 5 at once, it is also an efficient use of limited study time.
Key Takeaway
When a scenario question asks what to do next, check whether you have enough evidence yet. If the case has not established the source, the best answer is often more data collection or a clearly scoped referral, not an immediate fix.
Communication, Safety and Liability
Domain 5 (Communication and Client Education, 5% - 10%) and Domain 6 (Personal Safety, Insurance, and Liability, 8% - 10%) are smaller, but together they can represent a meaningful slice of your score, and they are the domains candidates most often under-prepare because the content feels like common sense. The exam's wording is precise, so common sense alone is not enough.
Domain 5: Communication and Client Education
Getting findings across accurately and without alarm or false reassurance.
- Explaining hazards and priorities in plain language suited to the client
- Educating occupants on behaviors that affect indoor conditions, such as ventilation habits and moisture sources
- Setting expectations about what an evaluation can and cannot determine
- Respecting sensitive health information shared during interviews
Domain 6: Personal Safety, Insurance, and Liability
Protecting yourself, your client and your practice.
- Personal protective equipment and safe entry into crawlspaces, attics and other confined or hazardous areas
- Recognizing situations where you should stop or leave rather than proceed
- Understanding the role of insurance coverage and the value of clear written scope and disclaimers
- Staying within your qualifications and referring out work that belongs to licensed or specialized professionals
A recurring theme across both domains is professional boundary. Questions often reward the answer that keeps the evaluator inside the role: documenting, advising and referring, rather than diagnosing medical conditions or performing work that needs a separate license.
Prerequisite, Proctoring and Exam-Day Logistics
The prerequisite comes first
The 2026 handbook requires an active BA-P, EA, QCI or MFBA credential before you take the exam and throughout certification. Issuer web pages have been inconsistent on details such as legacy BA and whether an uncertified person may sit, so the April 2026 handbook is the safest scope to rely on. Confirm your own situation before paying for anything, and read our HHE requirements guide for the eligibility picture in more depth. One consequence to remember: if your prerequisite lapses, your HHE lapses with it, and reactivating the prerequisite reinstates an otherwise unexpired HHE.
Booking and delivery
BPI does not publish a single national exam price. Exams are delivered through BPI Test Centers and BPI-approved proctors, and each center sets its own prices and schedules. BPI's official locator identifies centers that offer remote testing, including some that list HHE, but "online" does not automatically mean you can sit at home. Ask the center directly how an HHE session is arranged, what your space must look like for recording, and which identification you need. For scheduling realities, see our guide to HHE exam dates, windows and deadlines.
The attempt and timing rules
- The handbook permits six HHE online-exam attempts within a one-year period that begins with your first unsuccessful attempt, and each attempt carries a charge.
- You have 12 months from the first exam to complete certification.
- Passing criteria differ by exam version under Modified Angoff, and no universal numerical passing mark is published. Our passing score explainer covers what that means for your expectations.
Calculator and references
BPI's Test Center Policies and Procedures permit a standard nongraphing calculator during online exams. The same document mentions an exception involving unmarked BPI standards in its general exam-reference section, but the HHE handbook describes the exam as closed-book. If you hoped to bring any reference material, confirm with your Test Center in writing before exam day rather than assuming.
Training and Cost Choices
Training for the HHE is optional, and no separate degree, work-hour or reference requirement was verified beyond the prerequisite credential. That means your main decision is how much structure you need. Public provider pages show a range of options, and the figures below are provider-specific advertised prices, not BPI fees or guaranteed total costs.
| Item | Observed advertised figure | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Exam only, Green Training USA | $300 | Exam-only listing; provider-specific |
| Exam credential listing, HeatSpring | $450 | Provider-specific credential page |
| Optional prep course, HeatSpring | $795 | Separate from exam fees; the course page excludes examination fees |
| Prerequisite credentials | Varies | Separate cost if you do not yet hold BA-P, EA, QCI or MFBA |
Because Test Centers set their own pricing, call two or three before committing. Our HHE certification cost breakdown separates optional training, exam and proctor charges, prerequisites and renewal so you can build an honest total. Several providers also bundle HHE prep with Healthy Housing Principles (HHP) content. HHP is a separate BPI credential with its own exam and rules, so do not carry HHP question counts or passing marks into your HHE planning.
If you want a low-cost starting point, a free 50-question practice exam is listed publicly by HeatSpring, and our own practice test site lets you rehearse the multiple-choice format. Remember that your score on any practice test, and any provider's success claim, is not the official HHE population pass rate, which is not publicly disclosed in the official sources reviewed. See our pass rate discussion for how to interpret the numbers you will see online.
A Domain-Weighted Study Plan
Here is one way to sequence an eight-week plan around the blueprint. It front-loads Data Collection because it dominates the exam and because later domains depend on it. Adjust the length to your background; someone with years of field experience may compress it, while a newcomer to building science may stretch it.
Principles and Data Collection foundations
- Read the handbook's exam objectives and map every task to a topic of your own
- Cover Domain 1 vocabulary quickly, then start occupant interview and observation material
- Build a one-page checklist of what each instrument and observation can and cannot prove
Data Collection in depth
- Work through moisture, combustion safety and carbon monoxide, indoor air, pests, lead and asbestos awareness
- Do timed sets of scenario questions and review every miss against its observation-versus-interpretation logic
Analysis and Recommendations
- Run the full case chain on at least four sample homes, one per major hazard theme
- Practice prioritizing by risk and writing scopes of work that stay inside your role
Communication, Safety and Liability
- Rehearse client explanations in plain language
- Review personal protective practices, referral boundaries and insurance concepts
Mixed review and exam rehearsal
- Take full 50-question timed sets at 90 minutes
- Revisit your weakest domain and confirm Test Center logistics, ID and room setup
This is the one place in this guide where we lean on generic method, and it is deliberately tied to the blueprint: the hours track the published weights, and the review habit (turning every missed scenario into an observation-to-interpretation check) is specific to how HHE questions are written. For a faster last-days review, our one-page HHE cheat sheet condenses the must-know facts, and our companion article on how hard the HHE exam is helps you calibrate how much margin to build in.
After You Pass: Renewal and Career Context
Staying certified
HHE certification is valid for three years. To renew you can pass the HHE exam before expiry, earn and document 24 qualifying CEUs during the cycle, or document 150 hours of relevant Healthy Homes training delivered as a trainer over the cycle. Throughout, you must maintain your prerequisite credential and submit the application, evidence and fees. Two details trip people up:
- A failed renewal exam immediately ends your existing HHE certification, so the exam route is not a free retry.
- Self-reported CEU evidence must be submitted at least 30 days before expiry under BPI's Continuing Education Unit Policies and Procedures, and later submissions may not be accepted.
The official renewal fee for one certification without examinations is $360 by ACH, debit or e-check, or $370.80 by credit card. Where an online renewal exam is required, the Test Center fee is additional.
Where the credential fits in a career
Evaluators typically work in contexts where homes are assessed for health and safety, such as energy and weatherization programs, healthy housing initiatives, inspection and consulting practices, and building performance firms that already employ BPI-certified staff. For a sense of openings, see our overview of HHE jobs. On pay, treat numbers cautiously: the IREC occupation profile shows $43,000 to $106,000 annually and $22 to $53 hourly for the Healthy Home Evaluator occupation, but it does not display a clear estimate year or methodology and it is not a verified 2026 pay premium attributable to the certification. Our HHE salary guide and ROI analysis walk through how to weigh that range against your own market and existing credentials.
Frequently Asked Questions
The exam has 50 online multiple-choice questions and a 90-minute time limit. It is closed-book and proctored by a BPI-approved proctor with audio/video recording. BPI does not disclose how many items are scored versus unscored.
Data Collection, which carries 38% to 42% of the blueprint and is the largest domain. Analysis and Interpretation and Recommendations and/or Scope of Work are each 18% to 20%, so those three domains together should take most of your preparation time.
No universal numerical passing mark is published. Passing criteria vary by exam version under the Modified Angoff method, so aim for strong, balanced command of all six domains rather than chasing a single cutoff number.
The handbook permits six HHE online-exam attempts within a one-year period beginning with your first unsuccessful attempt, with a charge for each attempt, and you have 12 months from the first exam to complete certification. Check your Test Center for its scheduling and retake process.
Possibly, but it depends on the Test Center. BPI's locator identifies centers offering remote testing, including centers that list HHE, yet this does not guarantee at-home delivery everywhere. Ask your chosen center about HHE-specific arrangements before booking.