- Why There Is No Single HHE Exam Date
- Who Actually Controls Your Testing Window
- Prerequisite Timing: The Deadline Nobody Mentions
- The Three Clocks Running on Your Certification
- How to Book Your HHE Exam, Step by Step
- What the Scheduled Session Looks Like
- Planning Around Retakes
- Renewal Dates and the 30-Day Evidence Cutoff
- Working Backward From Your Exam Slot
- Frequently Asked Questions
- BPI publishes no national HHE exam calendar; individual BPI Test Centers and approved proctors set their own schedules.
- Your qualifying BA-P, EA, QCI or MFBA credential must be active before you sit the exam and throughout certification.
- You have 12 months from your first exam to complete certification, and six online attempts in a one-year window.
- Certification lasts three years; self-reported CEU evidence is due at least 30 days before expiry.
Why There Is No Single HHE Exam Date
If you came looking for a list of national "exam dates" for the Healthy Home Evaluator (HHE) credential, here is the honest answer: there isn't one. Unlike credentials that run fixed testing windows with published registration deadlines, the HHE is delivered through BPI Test Centers and BPI-approved proctors. Each of them sets its own availability, and BPI does not publish a single national schedule or a national initial-exam price.
That is actually good news for most candidates. Rather than waiting for a quarterly window to open, you typically pick a Test Center, ask what sessions it offers, and book a slot that fits your preparation. The tradeoff is that "when can I test?" becomes a question you answer center by center, and the answer can differ noticeably between providers.
Who Actually Controls Your Testing Window
Three parties shape when you can sit for the exam, and it helps to keep them straight.
BPI sets the rules, not the calendar
BPI's Healthy Home Evaluator (HHE) Certification Scheme Handbook (revised April 9, 2026) defines eligibility, exam format, attempt limits and certification validity. It does not hand out exam dates. Policies governing how Test Centers run exams come from BPI's Test Center Policies and Procedures.
Test Centers and proctors set availability and price
Each Test Center chooses its session times and its USD price. Because pricing is set locally, observed advertised figures vary: one exam-only listing from Green Training USA shows $300, while HeatSpring's credential page lists $450. These are provider-specific advertised prices, not issuer-wide fees, and they are worth comparing against what your chosen center actually quotes. For the full money picture, including optional training, see HHE Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.
Remote options exist, but verify them
BPI's official Test Center locator can be filtered for centers offering remote testing, including centers that list HHE. Be careful with the word "online," though. An exam being delivered over the internet does not automatically mean you can sit it from your living room. Whether a given center offers at-home HHE delivery, and under what conditions, is a question to put to that center directly before you plan your date around it.
| Question | Who decides | What to do |
|---|---|---|
| Exam format and attempt limits | BPI (handbook) | Read the April 2026 handbook |
| Session dates and times | Test Center or approved proctor | Contact centers and compare |
| Exam fee | Test Center | Get a written quote |
| At-home vs. in-person delivery | Test Center | Confirm HHE-specific arrangements |
Prerequisite Timing: The Deadline Nobody Mentions
The most common scheduling mistake is not missing a registration deadline; it is booking an exam before the prerequisite is in order. The 2026 handbook requires an active BA-P, EA, QCI or MFBA before examination and throughout certification. That means your qualifying credential must be current on exam day, not merely something you plan to renew later.
Public sources do not fully agree here. BPI's overview page adds legacy BA and says an uncertified person can take the exam, while the FAQ requires a prerequisite but omits EA from one list and includes it in its lapse answer. Some training-provider pages repeat older eligibility shorthand. The April 2026 handbook is the document to treat as controlling, and a short email to your Test Center settles any residual doubt before you pay. Our HHE Requirements 2026 guide walks through the prerequisite question in detail.
The Three Clocks Running on Your Certification
Once you start the process, several time limits matter more than any single exam date. Think of them as clocks that start at different moments.
| Clock | Length | When it starts |
|---|---|---|
| Certification completion window | 12 months | From your first exam |
| Retake window | One year (six online attempts, each charged) | From your first unsuccessful attempt |
| Certification validity | Three years | Once certified |
The handbook allows 12 months from the first exam to complete certification, and permits six HHE online-exam attempts within a one-year period that begins with the first unsuccessful attempt. Each attempt carries a charge. In practice, this argues against treating your first sitting as a "trial run." Not only does each attempt cost money, but your 12-month window is already counting down from it.
Key Takeaway
Do not book your first attempt as a casual diagnostic. Take a full-length practice run first, confirm your prerequisite is active, and only then reserve a slot. The attempt clock and the 12-month completion clock both begin with your first exam.
How to Book Your HHE Exam, Step by Step
- Confirm your prerequisite is active. Verify that your BA-P, EA, QCI or MFBA is current and will remain so through your exam and the certification period.
- Use the official locator. BPI's Test Center locator lets you search for centers, including those flagged for remote testing and those listing HHE.
- Contact two or three centers. Ask for upcoming session dates, the exam fee, how proctoring works, and whether at-home delivery is available for HHE specifically.
- Ask about the rules for your session. The exam is closed-book. A standard nongraphing calculator is permitted during online exams under BPI's Test Center Policies and Procedures (section 15.1). The general exam-reference section mentions an exception for unmarked BPI standards, but because the HHE handbook is closed-book, confirm any HHE-specific reference allowance with your center instead of assuming one.
- Get fees in writing. Because there is no national price, a written quote prevents surprises, particularly if you are comparing a bare exam listing against a bundled course-plus-exam package.
- Book with buffer. Leave room before your target date in case you need to reschedule or retake.
What the Scheduled Session Looks Like
Knowing the format helps you decide how much preparation time to build in before your date.
- Format: 50 online multiple-choice questions.
- Time: 90 minutes.
- Proctoring: closed-book, under direct observation by a BPI-approved proctor, with audio/video recording.
- Field component: no separate HHE field assessment is required.
- Scoring detail: the scored/unscored question split is not disclosed.
On passing, BPI uses a Modified Angoff approach, and passing criteria vary by exam version. No universal numerical pass mark is published, so be wary of any source quoting a single fixed cut score. Our HHE Passing Score 2026 article explains what is and is not known, and HHE Pass Rate 2026 covers why a population pass rate is not publicly disclosed in the official sources located.
Match your prep to the blueprint, not the date
The scheduling question and the readiness question are separate. The official blueprint weights six domains, and Data Collection is the heaviest, so a quick calendar-driven cram that skips it is the riskiest approach.
Data Collection (38% - 42%)
The largest domain and the one most worth front-loading in your prep window.
- Occupant interviews and qualitative observations
- Quantitative measurements taken during an assessment
- Documenting conditions accurately for later analysis
The other five domains
Together these make up the remainder of the exam.
- Principles of a Healthy Home (8% - 10%)
- Analysis and Interpretation (18% - 20%)
- Recommendations and/or Scope of Work (18% - 20%)
- Communication and Client Education (5% - 10%)
- Personal Safety, Insurance, and Liability (8% - 10%)
These are published ranges, not exact allocations, so do not normalize them into a single fixed split. For a full breakdown of each area, see HHE Exam Domains 2026, and for a structured plan, HHE Study Guide 2026.
Planning Around Retakes
A failed attempt is not the end of the road, but it does shape your timeline. With six online attempts allowed in the one-year window that starts at your first unsuccessful attempt, and 12 months from the first exam to finish certification, you have room to recover. Two practical points follow.
- Each attempt is charged. Build the possibility of a retake into your budget rather than treating the first fee as the only cost.
- The 12-month limit still applies. A cluster of late-window retakes can run into your certification completion deadline, so space your attempts with the end date in mind.
If you are worried about difficulty before you commit to a date, How Hard Is the HHE Exam? gives a candid look at what trips candidates up.
Renewal Dates and the 30-Day Evidence Cutoff
"Exam dates" also come up at the other end of the certification cycle, because renewal can involve an exam. Certification is valid for three years. There are three renewal paths:
- Pass the HHE exam before expiry.
- Earn and document 24 qualifying CEUs during the cycle.
- Provide documentation of 150 hours of relevant Healthy Homes training delivered over the cycle as a trainer.
On the third path, the current BPI overview also names proctors, but handbook section 11 explicitly says trainers, so proctor status alone should not be treated as satisfying the requirement. Whichever path you choose, you must maintain the prerequisite and submit the application, evidence and fees.
Know the stakes on the exam route: a failed renewal exam immediately ends existing HHE certification. The official renewal fee for one certification without examinations is $360 by ACH/debit/e-check or $370.80 by credit card. Where an online renewal exam is required, its Test Center fee is additional.
Working Backward From Your Exam Slot
Once you have a booked or target date, a domain-weighted plan beats an even split. This sample timeline assumes a candidate with an active prerequisite and a date several weeks out; adjust it to your own background.
Data Collection first
- Occupant interviews, observations and measurements, since this domain carries the most weight
- Note which measurement concepts feel unfamiliar
Analysis, then Recommendations
- Interpreting findings and prioritizing hazards
- Turning findings into a scope of work
The smaller domains
- Principles of a Healthy Home, Communication and Client Education, Personal Safety, Insurance, and Liability
Timed practice
- Full 50-question runs under 90 minutes, closed-book, then review misses by domain
When you are ready to test yourself, the HHE practice test lets you rehearse the format before you pay for a proctored attempt. A condensed HHE Cheat Sheet is useful for the final review pass, and the main practice site is the place to check your timing.
If you are weighing whether the timeline and expense are worthwhile, Is the HHE Certification Worth It? and the HHE Salary Guide cover the return side. Note that published salary ranges for the occupation are occupation-level context rather than a verified credential premium.
Frequently Asked Questions
No. BPI does not publish a national HHE exam calendar. BPI Test Centers and approved proctors set their own sessions and prices, so you find available dates by contacting centers through BPI's official locator.
Possibly, but it depends on the center. BPI's locator identifies centers offering remote testing, including some listing HHE, but "online" alone does not prove at-home delivery. Confirm HHE-specific arrangements directly with the center before you plan around it.
The handbook permits six HHE online-exam attempts in a one-year period that begins with your first unsuccessful attempt, with a charge for each. You also have 12 months from your first exam to complete certification.
An active BA-P, EA, QCI or MFBA, which the April 2026 handbook requires before examination and throughout certification. Issuer web pages and some training sites conflict on eligibility, so treat the handbook as controlling and confirm with your Test Center.
Self-reported CEU evidence must be submitted at least 30 days before your certification expires, per BPI's March 1, 2026 CEU policy. Later submissions may not be accepted, so plan to file well ahead of the expiry date itself.