HHE logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

HHE Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass

TL;DR
  • BPI publishes no universal numerical passing mark for the Healthy Home Evaluator exam; standards vary by exam version.
  • The exam is 50 online multiple-choice questions in 90 minutes, closed-book, with a BPI-approved proctor observing and recording.
  • Data Collection carries 38%-42% of the blueprint, so it deserves the largest share of your study hours.
  • You need an active BA-P, EA, QCI or MFBA credential before testing and throughout certification.

Why There Is No Single Passing Score

Most candidates searching for the Healthy Home Evaluator (HHE) passing score expect a clean number such as "70%" or "80%." The honest answer is less tidy: the Building Performance Institute (BPI) does not publish one universal numerical pass mark for the HHE exam. According to the Healthy Home Evaluator (HHE) Certification Scheme Handbook (revised April 9, 2026), passing criteria vary by exam version.

That sounds frustrating, but it is how many professionally developed credentialing exams work. If you see a blog post, a training-provider page or a forum comment stating a specific HHE cut score as official fact, treat it with suspicion. The issuer sources we reviewed do not support a fixed figure, and numbers attached to other BPI products or to similarly abbreviated credentials do not transfer to this one.

Don't import someone else's cut score: BPI's separate Healthy Housing Principles (HHP) Certificate of Knowledge is a different credential with its own question count and passing mark. Those details do not apply to the HHE exam. If a search result mixes the two, trust the handbook for HHE and the HHP page for HHP.

For a broader look at where candidates struggle, see our guide on how hard the HHE exam is, and for the population-level picture, our explainer on the HHE pass rate (spoiler: BPI does not publicly disclose one in the official HHE sources located).

How the Modified Angoff Method Sets the Bar

The handbook states that passing criteria are established using a Modified Angoff approach. You do not need to master the psychometrics, but understanding the logic changes how you prepare.

The idea in plain terms

In an Angoff-style standard-setting process, subject-matter experts review each exam question and estimate how likely a minimally competent candidate would be to answer it correctly. Those judgments are combined into a cut score for that particular set of questions. Because different exam versions contain different questions, and some questions are harder than others, the resulting pass mark can legitimately differ from one version to the next.

What this means for you

  • There is no number to "aim just above." Targeting a bare minimum is a gamble on a threshold you cannot see.
  • The standard is competence, not a curve. You are not competing against other candidates; you are measured against what a minimally competent Healthy Home Evaluator should know.
  • Breadth beats cramming a few topics. Because the standard reflects job competence across the blueprint, weak coverage of a whole domain is riskier than a few missed trivia items.
  • Scored versus unscored questions are not disclosed. Don't try to guess which items "count"; treat all 50 seriously.

Key Takeaway

Because no fixed cut score is published, the only reliable strategy is to aim for consistent, comfortable competence in every domain, with extra depth in Data Collection. Think "ready to perform an assessment," not "enough to scrape by."

What You Are Actually Sitting: Format and Delivery

Knowing the delivery format helps you judge what a passing performance looks like in practice. Here are the verified specifics for the Healthy Home Evaluator exam:

Exam ElementWhat the Sources Say
Question count50 multiple-choice questions
Time limit90 minutes
DeliveryOnline, through BPI Test Centers and BPI-approved proctors
SupervisionClosed-book, directly observed by a BPI-approved proctor, with audio/video recording
Field assessmentNo separate HHE field assessment is required
CalculatorA standard nongraphing calculator is permitted for online exams under BPI Test Center Policies and Procedures (revised June 1, 2023, section 15.1)
Scored/unscored splitNot disclosed
Pass rateNot publicly disclosed in the official HHE sources located

At 90 minutes for 50 questions, you have a bit under two minutes per item. That is workable for knowledge questions but tighter for scenario-style items that ask you to interpret observations or measurements and choose a defensible next step.

Closed-book means closed-book

The HHE handbook specifies closed-book testing. BPI's general Test Center policies mention an exception involving unmarked BPI standards in the exam-reference section, but that does not automatically extend to the HHE exam. If you wonder whether any reference material is permitted, confirm directly with your Test Center before exam day rather than assuming.

"Online" does not automatically mean "at home"

BPI's official locator identifies Test Centers that offer remote testing, including some listing HHE. But "online" alone is not evidence of at-home delivery, and not every center guarantees at-home HHE sessions. Check the specific arrangement with the center you choose, including proctoring and technical requirements.

Where the Points Live: The Six Domains

Since the passing standard applies across the full exam, how the blueprint distributes questions tells you where your score is won or lost. The handbook publishes percentage ranges for six domains. Those ranges are published endpoints, not exact allocations, so don't normalize them into precise question counts.

DomainPublished Weight
Domain 1: Principles of a Healthy Home (e.g., Keep it Healthy)8% - 10%
Domain 2: Data Collection38% - 42%
Domain 3: Analysis and Interpretation18% - 20%
Domain 4: Recommendations and/or Scope of Work18% - 20%
Domain 5: Communication and Client Education5% - 10%
Domain 6: Personal Safety, Insurance, and Liability8% - 10%

Our full breakdown lives in the HHE exam domains guide. Here is how the weighting should shape your thinking about the passing standard.

Domain 2: Data Collection (38% - 42%)

This is the single largest domain, and it dominates your outcome. A candidate who is weak here is very unlikely to compensate elsewhere.

  • Occupant interviews and gathering health and household history
  • Qualitative observations of conditions in and around the dwelling
  • Quantitative measurements and what they do and do not tell you
  • Knowing which information to collect for which suspected concern

Domains 3 and 4: Analysis and Interpretation; Recommendations and/or Scope of Work (18% - 20% each)

Together these two domains cover roughly a third to two-fifths of the exam. They test whether you can turn collected data into prioritized findings and then into a defensible scope of work.

  • Linking observations and measurements to likely hazards and sources
  • Prioritizing issues rather than listing them
  • Writing recommendations that match findings and fit professional boundaries

Domains 1, 5 and 6: Smaller but Not Skippable

Principles of a Healthy Home (8%-10%), Communication and Client Education (5%-10%) and Personal Safety, Insurance, and Liability (8%-10%) are each lighter, but combined they form a meaningful slice. Safety and liability questions in particular tend to reward straightforward professional-practice knowledge, so they are efficient points to secure.

The Prerequisite Gate Before You Can Test

You cannot simply decide to take the exam. The 2026 handbook requires an active BA-P, EA, QCI or MFBA credential before examination and throughout certification. If that prerequisite lapses, the HHE lapses too; reactivating the prerequisite reinstates an otherwise unexpired HHE.

Watch for conflicting summaries: BPI's web pages and some training-provider listings differ on eligibility. One overview adds legacy BA and suggests an uncertified person can take the exam, while the FAQ requires a prerequisite but lists credentials slightly differently. We treat the April 2026 handbook as the controlling source. Confirm your status with BPI or your Test Center before paying for anything. Our HHE requirements guide walks through the details.

Training is optional. No separate degree, work-hour or reference requirement was verified beyond the prerequisite credential, so your main gating item is holding one of the qualifying certifications.

Reading Your Practice-Test Scores Honestly

Because there is no published universal cut score, practice-test percentages need careful interpretation. A practice score is evidence about your preparedness, not a prediction against a known threshold.

  • Provider claims are not population pass rates. One training provider asserts a success rate above 90% for its certification students generally. That is a marketing claim about its own students, not an official or HHE-specific pass rate.
  • Free practice exams are a starting diagnostic. HeatSpring, for example, offers a free 50-question practice examination; it mirrors the exam length but is still a provider's own item set, not BPI's live questions.
  • Score by domain, not just overall. A 78% overall that hides a shaky Data Collection result is more dangerous than a balanced result.
  • Look at why you miss questions. Misreading a scenario, confusing a measurement with an observation, and not knowing a safety rule are three different problems with three different fixes.

You can build realistic repetition with the HHE practice test on our main site, and use our HHE study guide to organize what you miss into a repeatable review loop. A confident, stable result across several full-length sessions, with no domain lagging, is a far better readiness signal than any single high score.

Attempts, the 12-Month Clock, and Retake Costs

The retake rules matter for your risk planning. Per the handbook:

  • You may make six online-exam attempts in a one-year period, beginning with the first unsuccessful attempt.
  • Each attempt carries a charge.
  • You have 12 months from the first exam to complete certification.

BPI publishes no national initial-exam price or member/non-member differential. Test Centers set their own USD prices and schedules. Examples we observed are provider-specific advertised prices, not issuer-wide fees: Green Training USA lists an exam-only price of $300, and HeatSpring's credential page lists $450. HeatSpring's separate exam-prep course is advertised at $795 and excludes exam fees. Treat these as snapshots, and verify current figures with your chosen center. Our HHE certification cost breakdown separates optional training, exam charges and prerequisite credentials.

Key Takeaway

Six attempts is a safety net, not a strategy. Every retake costs money and uses part of your 12-month window. Treat the first attempt as the real one, and schedule it only after your domain-level practice results are consistently solid.

A Domain-Weighted Prep Sequence

Since the passing standard rewards across-the-board competence with extra weight on Data Collection, sequence your study to match the blueprint. This is the one structured study plan in this article; adjust the pacing to your own schedule and prior experience as a BPI-certified professional.

Week 1

Foundation and Safety

  • Review Principles of a Healthy Home, including the "Keep it Healthy" style framework
  • Cover Personal Safety, Insurance, and Liability while the material is fresh
  • Take a baseline practice test to find your weakest domain
Weeks 2-3

Data Collection Deep Dive

  • Spend the most time here given its 38%-42% weight
  • Practice distinguishing occupant interviews, qualitative observations and quantitative measurements
  • Work scenario questions on what to collect for a given complaint
Week 4

Analysis and Recommendations

  • Connect findings to hazards, then to prioritized recommendations
  • Practice building a scope of work from a full case
  • Review communication and client education points
Week 5

Timed Full-Length Review

  • Run 50-question sessions in 90 minutes, closed-book
  • Score each domain separately and revisit the lowest one
  • Confirm exam logistics with your Test Center

For a compact refresher in the final days, our HHE cheat sheet condenses the must-know facts.

What Passing Leads To: Validity and Renewal

Passing earns you a Healthy Home Evaluator certification valid for three years. Your renewal options matter because a failed renewal exam has serious consequences.

  • Renewal routes: pass the HHE exam before expiry; or earn and document 24 qualifying CEUs during the cycle; or document 150 hours of relevant Healthy Homes training delivered over the cycle as a trainer.
  • Maintain the prerequisite: your qualifying credential must stay active, and you submit the application, evidence and fees.
  • Deadline for CEU evidence: self-reported CEU documentation must be submitted at least 30 days before expiry under BPI's March 1, 2026 Continuing Education Unit Policies and Procedures; later submissions may not be accepted.
  • Official renewal fee: $360 by ACH/debit/e-check or $370.80 by credit card for one certification without examinations. Where an online renewal exam is required, the Test Center fee is additional.
  • A failed renewal exam immediately ends existing HHE certification. That is a strong reason to prefer the CEU route if you are eligible.

On the trainer route, the handbook (section 11) explicitly says trainers. BPI's overview also names proctors in this context, but proctor status alone is not treated as satisfying the training requirement, so verify before relying on it. More on the career side: our HHE salary guide and ROI analysis cover the economics. Salary context is occupation-level only; IREC's career map shows a range of $43,000-$106,000 annually ($22-$53 hourly) without a visible estimate year or methodology, and it is not a verified 2026 pay premium for holding the credential.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the passing score for the Healthy Home Evaluator exam?

BPI does not publish a universal numerical pass mark. Passing criteria vary by exam version and are set using a Modified Angoff method. Prepare for broad competence across all six domains rather than a fixed percentage.

How many questions are on the HHE exam, and how long do I have?

The exam has 50 online multiple-choice questions with a 90-minute time limit. It is closed-book and observed by a BPI-approved proctor with audio/video recording. The split between scored and unscored questions is not disclosed.

Can I use a calculator on the HHE exam?

BPI's Test Center Policies and Procedures permit a standard nongraphing calculator during online exams. Because the HHE handbook is closed-book, confirm any other permitted-reference question with your Test Center before test day.

How many times can I retake the HHE exam?

The handbook permits six online-exam attempts in a one-year period beginning with the first unsuccessful attempt, with a charge for each. You also have 12 months from your first exam to complete certification.

Do I need another certification before taking the HHE exam?

Yes, under the April 2026 handbook you need an active BA-P, EA, QCI or MFBA before examination and throughout certification. Some BPI web summaries and provider pages differ, so confirm with BPI or your Test Center first. See our HHE requirements guide for details.

Ready to pass your HHE exam?

Put this into practice with free HHE questions across every exam domain.