- What the HHE Credential Actually Is
- The Prerequisite Rule Most Candidates Miss
- Exam Format and Proctoring
- The Six-Domain Blueprint
- Where the Money Goes
- Attempt Limits and the 12-Month Clock
- Sequencing Your Study Around the Blueprint
- Renewal: Three Routes and One Hard Deadline
- Career Context and Salary Evidence
- Do Not Confuse HHE With HHP
- Frequently Asked Questions
- HHE is the Building Performance Institute's Healthy Home Evaluator credential: 50 online multiple-choice questions in 90 minutes, closed book, proctored.
- Data Collection carries 38%-42% of the blueprint, making it the single most important domain to master.
- An active BA-P, EA, QCI or MFBA credential must be held before the exam and throughout certification.
- Certification lasts three years; a failed renewal exam immediately ends your existing HHE certification.
What the HHE Credential Actually Is
The Healthy Home Evaluator (HHE) is a professional certification issued by the Building Performance Institute (BPI). It validates that a professional can assess a residence for conditions that affect occupant health, interpret what was found, and turn those findings into a prioritized scope of work. If you are still sorting out terminology, our explainers on what HHE certification is and what HHE stands for cover the basics. This article goes deeper into how the credential works in practice: who can sit for it, what the exam looks like, what it costs, and how to keep it.
The credential is governed by the Healthy Home Evaluator (HHE) Certification Scheme Handbook, revised April 9, 2026. Nearly every rule discussed below comes from that handbook, supplemented by BPI's Test Center policies and fee tables. Where BPI's public web pages conflict with one another, the April 2026 handbook is the document to trust.
The Prerequisite Rule Most Candidates Miss
HHE is not an entry-level, stand-alone exam. According to the 2026 handbook, you must hold an active BA-P, EA, QCI or MFBA credential before you take the examination, and you must keep it active throughout your HHE certification. That second clause matters as much as the first. If the prerequisite lapses, your HHE lapses with it. Reactivating the prerequisite reinstates an otherwise unexpired HHE.
The practical takeaway: before you buy training or schedule a seat, verify that your prerequisite credential is active and note its own renewal date. A professional who lets a prerequisite lapse mid-cycle can lose HHE standing without ever failing an HHE exam. Beyond the prerequisite, no separate HHE degree, work-hour or reference requirement was verified, and no separate field assessment is required for the HHE.
Exam Format and Proctoring
The HHE exam is 50 online multiple-choice questions with a 90-minute time limit. BPI does not disclose how many items are scored versus unscored, so assume every question matters and pace yourself at roughly 1.8 minutes per item.
Delivery and Proctoring
Testing runs through BPI Test Centers and BPI-approved proctors rather than a separately identified third-party testing vendor. The exam is closed book and taken under direct observation by a BPI-approved proctor, with audio and video recording. BPI's official locator identifies Test Centers offering remote testing, including centers listing HHE. However, "online" is not the same as "at home." Remote availability varies by center, so confirm the exact HHE arrangement with your chosen Test Center before booking.
Calculators and References
BPI's Test Center Policies and Procedures (revised June 1, 2023, section 15.1) permit a standard nongraphing calculator during online exams. The general exam-reference section mentions an exception for unmarked BPI standards, but because the HHE handbook specifies closed-book testing, do not assume any reference material is allowed. Ask your Test Center directly.
Passing Standard
BPI does not publish a universal numerical pass mark. Passing criteria vary by exam version under a Modified Angoff method, meaning each form's cut score reflects the difficulty of that form's questions. Official HHE pass rates are also not publicly disclosed in the sources located. Be wary of any provider claiming a precise HHE passing percentage or pass rate. For a fuller discussion, see our pieces on the HHE passing score and the HHE pass rate, and on how hard the HHE exam is.
The Six-Domain Blueprint
The official exam objectives appear in section 7 of the handbook (printed page 9). Each domain has a published percentage range. Those endpoints are ranges, not fixed allocations, so do not normalize them into an assumed question count. Our complete guide to all six HHE content areas expands on each one; here is the working summary.
Domain 2: Data Collection (38% - 42%)
This is the heart of the exam and nearly two out of every five questions' worth of content. Expect scenario-driven items about how an evaluator gathers information in a home.
- Occupant interviews that surface health complaints, behaviors and history
- Qualitative observations of moisture, ventilation, pests, combustion appliances and building condition
- Quantitative measurements taken with appropriate instruments and interpreted correctly
- Knowing which hazards (carbon monoxide, indoor air quality problems, moisture and mold, lead, asbestos) call for which kind of data
Domain 3: Analysis and Interpretation (18% - 20%)
Once data is collected, the evaluator must make sense of it: connecting symptoms and conditions, identifying likely causes, and prioritizing risks.
- Relating observed building conditions to occupant health concerns
- Ranking hazards by severity and urgency
- Recognizing when findings exceed an evaluator's scope
Domain 4: Recommendations and/or Scope of Work (18% - 20%)
Findings become action. This domain tests whether you can turn analysis into a sensible, sequenced set of recommendations.
- Writing a defensible scope of work tied to documented findings
- Sequencing corrections so that source control precedes cosmetic fixes
- Distinguishing what you can recommend from what requires a licensed specialist
Domain 1: Principles of a Healthy Home (e.g., Keep it Healthy) (8% - 10%)
The conceptual foundation: the principles for how a home supports or undermines occupant health. The blueprint's Domain 1 wording uses "e.g.," so treat the named framework as an example rather than an exhaustive list.
Domain 6: Personal Safety, Insurance, and Liability (8% - 10%)
Evaluators enter homes with real hazards. Expect questions on protecting yourself on site, understanding insurance, and staying within professional boundaries.
Domain 5: Communication and Client Education (5% - 10%)
The smallest and widest-ranging domain. It covers explaining findings clearly, educating occupants, and setting expectations without overstating what an assessment can promise.
Where the Money Goes
BPI publishes no national initial-exam price and no member versus non-member differential. Test Centers set their own prices in U.S. dollars and manage their own schedules, so the cost of sitting the exam depends on where you book. Observed provider examples illustrate the spread:
| Item | Observed Figure | What It Covers |
|---|---|---|
| Green Training USA exam-only listing | $300 | Written exam listing from one provider |
| HeatSpring credential page | $450 | Exam fee advertised by one provider |
| HeatSpring exam-prep course | $795 | Optional preparation; exam fees excluded |
| BPI renewal, one certification, no exams | $360 (ACH/debit/e-check) or $370.80 (credit card) | Official renewal fee; a renewal exam fee is extra where required |
These are provider-specific advertised prices, not issuer-wide fees or guaranteed total training costs. Training itself is optional. A realistic budget separates four things: any prerequisite credential you still need, optional prep, the exam and proctoring charge set by your Test Center, and renewal later. Our HHE certification cost breakdown lays these out line by line.
Attempt Limits and the 12-Month Clock
The handbook permits six HHE online-exam attempts in a one-year period, beginning with the first unsuccessful attempt, and a charge applies to each attempt. It also allows 12 months from the first exam to complete certification. Combined, these rules mean a failed first attempt is not a disaster, but it is also not free, and the calendar keeps running.
Key Takeaway
Do not treat your first sitting as a diagnostic. Every attempt carries its own fee, and the 12-month completion window starts at your first exam. Schedule only when your practice results are consistently strong across all six domains. You can check readiness with the HHE practice tests on our main site.
Sequencing Your Study Around the Blueprint
Generic study advice is plentiful. What helps most for HHE is allocating time in proportion to the blueprint and building from fieldwork logic toward interpretation. The plan below assumes you already hold the prerequisite credential and have some building-science background. Adjust the pace to your own schedule, and see the full HHE study guide for more resources.
Data Collection First
- Work through interview questions, observation checklists and measurement methods for each hazard category
- Practice distinguishing qualitative observations from quantitative measurements
- Revisit carbon monoxide, moisture and mold, lead and asbestos until you can state what data each requires
Analysis, Then Recommendations
- Take a set of sample findings and rank hazards by risk
- Draft a short scope of work from each set, sequencing source control first
- Note where a finding should trigger referral to a specialist
Principles, Communication and Liability
- Review the healthy-home principles framework and the safety, insurance and liability topics
- Practice explaining a finding to a non-technical client in plain language
Timed Mixed Practice
- Sit full 50-question, 90-minute sets under closed-book conditions
- Review every miss by domain and return to the weakest one
Front-loading Data Collection is deliberate. It carries the largest share of the blueprint, and the later domains build directly on it: you cannot analyze or recommend well from data you do not know how to gather. A one-page HHE cheat sheet is a useful last-week review, but it cannot replace working scenario questions.
Renewal: Three Routes and One Hard Deadline
HHE certification is valid for three years. To renew, you must maintain the prerequisite credential, submit the application, evidence and fees, and complete one of three alternatives:
- Pass the HHE exam before your certification expires.
- Earn and document 24 qualifying CEUs during the cycle.
- Document 150 hours of relevant Healthy Homes training delivered over the cycle as a trainer.
On the third route, BPI's overview page also names proctors, but handbook section 11 explicitly says trainers. Proctor status alone should not be assumed to satisfy the requirement; confirm with BPI if that is your situation.
The official renewal fee for one certification without examinations is $360 by ACH, debit or e-check, or $370.80 by credit card. Where an online renewal exam is required, the Test Center fee is additional. For scheduling and deadline planning, see our HHE exam dates guide.
Career Context and Salary Evidence
The HHE credential suits professionals who already work in home performance, energy auditing, quality control or building analysis and want to extend into health-focused assessment. Typical employers and clients include home performance contractors, weatherization and housing programs, remediation and inspection firms, and organizations that address housing-related health concerns. For job-search specifics, see our overview of HHE jobs.
On pay, be careful. The Green Buildings Career Map, built on IREC's occupation profile, publishes a range of $43,000 to $106,000 annually and $22 to $53 hourly for the Healthy Home Evaluator occupation. The profile does not show a visible estimate year or methodology, and it describes the occupation, not a verified pay premium attributable to holding the certification. Treat it as context, not a promise. Our HHE salary guide and analysis of whether the credential is worth it discuss how to weigh the investment.
Do Not Confuse HHE With HHP
BPI also offers the Healthy Housing Principles (HHP) Certificate of Knowledge. It is a separate credential with its own questions, passing mark and syllabus. Some training providers bundle HHP and HHE preparation in one course, and some search results show outdated HHP details. None of those details apply to the HHE exam. When you study, confirm that practice material targets the Healthy Home Evaluator blueprint and not the HHP syllabus. If you are comparing the HHE with building-focused credentials such as the Building Analyst, remember that the HHE blueprint centers on health-related assessment, analysis and client-facing recommendations.
Frequently Asked Questions
The Building Performance Institute (BPI) issues and governs the Healthy Home Evaluator (HHE) credential under its Certification Scheme Handbook, revised April 9, 2026. Testing is delivered through BPI Test Centers and BPI-approved proctors.
It has 50 online multiple-choice questions with a 90-minute limit, taken closed book under direct observation by a BPI-approved proctor with audio and video recording. No separate HHE field assessment is required.
Possibly, but not guaranteed. BPI's locator identifies Test Centers offering remote testing, including some listing HHE. Because "online" does not automatically mean at-home delivery, confirm the specific HHE arrangement with your center.
The handbook permits six online-exam attempts in a one-year period beginning with the first unsuccessful attempt, with a charge for each attempt. You have 12 months from the first exam to complete certification.
It lasts three years. You renew by passing the HHE exam, documenting 24 qualifying CEUs, or documenting 150 hours of relevant Healthy Homes training delivered as a trainer, while keeping your prerequisite credential active and submitting the application, evidence and fees.
Whatever route you take to certification, the blueprint is your map: weight your preparation toward Data Collection, protect your prerequisite credential, and verify every logistical detail with your chosen Test Center. When you are ready to test your readiness, head to the HHE practice exam site, and keep our HHE training overview handy for choosing optional preparation.